Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Disabled Cruisers
Register Forgot Password?

Disabled Cruisers Discuss issues concerning disabled cruisers.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old July 21st, 2004, 08:07 AM
JIM SMITH

Default hospital beds

HAS ANYONE HAD ANY EXPERIENCE WITH THE DELIVERY AND USE OF HOSPITAL BEDS ON CRUISE SHIPS.
THANKS
Sponsored Links
Old February 23rd, 2005, 03:23 PM
Cruise Maniac

Default Re: hospital beds

why would you want to have a hospital bed on a cruise? dont misunderstand me, im a home health care nurse with 20 experience. cruise ships are not that easy to get aroun d on. it sounds like your health is not good, if you need a hospital bed. why not think about taking an all-inclusive trip somewhere? this way you can plan ahead for the bed, and have plenty of room to move around in your room.
Old February 25th, 2005, 03:32 PM
JIM SMITH

THERE ARE MANY REASONS TO NEED A HOSPITAL BED. YOU MAY WANT TO CONSIDER OVER ALL CONFORT. PLUS HOSPITAL BEDS ARE HEIGHT ADJUSTABLE. I HAVE SAILED/CRUISED 6 TIMES AND THE HEIGHT OF THE BED HAS BEEN AN ISSUE EVERY TIME. NO ONE WANTS TO SLEEP ON TWO MATTRESS.THERE ARE MANY MEDICAL SUPPLY PLACES THAT PROVIDE THIS SERVICE TO CRUISE LINES. I JUST WANTED TO GET INFO FROM SOMEONE THAT HAS HAD SOME EXPERIENCE.
Old February 26th, 2005, 05:10 PM
First Mate

We have never used them, but I understand that CareVacations will rent and deliver a hospital bed. Not sure of the quality of the mattress so you may want to take an overlay if you are prone to pressure ulcers. My mother has an adjustable bed at home, but we just use the ship's bed...she misses her bed from home, but we make it work because it is easier. We have had to have the extra mattress a few times to make the bed high enough for us to use our travel lift appropriately, but this has not caused a problem for us.