Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Destinations > European & Mediterranean Destinations
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old February 1st, 2004, 06:19 PM
Zot

Default Grand Princess Baltic on 6/28/04 questions

Hello,

My wife and I are taking the Grand Princess Baltic tour on June 28, 2004. We are taking 2 of our children, 10 and 14. Although we are experienced cruisers, Europe is new to us. What is the process of getting through customs at each port - both getting on and off the ship?

Would anybody be interested in putting a group together for a private tour in St. Petersburg? I hear that Red October is an excellent tour company, but can be pricy.

Finally - how much, if any - of the local language do we need to know? I'm studying Russian and my wife is studying Danish already (we've always had that desire so the cruise just gave us a reason) but we don't know how much we need to know in the other countries.

Thanks and looking forward to making new friends!
Sponsored Links
Old February 1st, 2004, 10:13 PM
Andee

Default Re: Grand Princess Baltic on 6/28/04 questions

The only port in which getting off the ship involves that country's government is St. Petersburg.

It's also the only port where we found people in museums who didn't speak English. We used Red October, and we found that the price went down significantly for 4 people, rather than 2, but not for 6.
Old February 2nd, 2004, 12:21 PM
Donna Hill

Hi Zot,