Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Destinations > European & Mediterranean Destinations
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 6th, 2008, 02:01 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Default visas

do we need to obtain a visa lfor ports of call? i.e. Turkey, Egypt
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 6th, 2008, 07:48 PM
lulu48's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 622

Depends on your Citizenship

Canadians & American citizens:
If you are flying into or out of Turkey yes you need a VISA if you are flying into turkey you can get one at the airport .
If you are stopping on a cruise in Turkey eg: Ephesus
You do NOT need a visa
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 6th, 2008, 08:30 PM
Kamloops Cruiser's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,130

All tourists arriving in Russia require a visa.
If you take a ship organized tour , you might not require a visa. If you want to do your own thing ,one is required . Cost is about 500USD


Ships Sailed:

SS Ithaca , Volendam , Mariner of the Seas (x2) , Veendam , Coral Princess , Island Princess (x3) , Emerald Princess,Sapphire Sapphire (x3),Diamond Princess
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 30th, 2008, 09:29 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rye,nh
Posts: 1

Went on Princess Mediterrean Cruise in June. Turkey was one of the stops, did not need Visa. Your ticket agent should be able to tell you if any of your stops need visas. It's very important, as I was told if one of your stops needs a visa, even if you don't get off at that stop, yyou will not be allowed to board the ship at embarkation without the proper papers. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 30th, 2008, 09:19 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4

If you arrive and depart Turkey by cruiseship, then you don't need any visa. Everyone is given a daily landing card from the ship/customs when disembarking so that's all that's needed.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 11th, 2009, 11:47 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: visas

Originally Posted by arorato
do we need to obtain a visa lfor ports of call? i.e. Turkey, Egypt
Depends onwhat cruise line you are if you are not boarding or disemberking toyour ships at Turkish ports and you are inthe more for excursion even spending overnight aboard youdonotneed visa.

Reply With Quote


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
visas arorato Norwegian Cruise Lines 2 October 6th, 2008 02:41 PM
Visas Pamela C Celebrity 2 February 10th, 2005 01:45 PM
Visas necessary? Please help mpagnozzi Royal Caribbean International 4 November 27th, 2002 05:47 PM
Visas Bernie Travel Gripes! 5 November 20th, 2002 03:08 PM
Visas Yannis Celebrity 7 March 27th, 2001 04:08 PM

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:50 AM.
design by: Themes by Design

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1