Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Family Cruising
Register Forgot Password?

Family Cruising Discuss family cruising - kids programs, babysitting, infant care, etc.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old July 4th, 2002, 09:36 AM
Hollie

Default Royal Carribean -Splendor of the Seas

We have recently booked a week long cruise of the Med, and are taking our two young children aged 3 and 18 months. Does anyone have any suggestions about shore excursions, or any advise would be helpful. It is our first time cruising, and we are both excited and anxious about it.
Sponsored Links
Old July 5th, 2002, 10:01 AM
Luisa

Default Re: Royal Carribean -Splendor of the Seas

I'm the family cruising editor here. My 8 year old daughter has been on 11 cruises so I have plenty of kids' cruising experience. I've cruised with Royal Caribbean a few times before and they have a great kids' program. Hopefully your three year old is potty trained so that he/she can participate in the youth program. (They MUST be toilet trained to participate.) You may also want to consider private babysitting at some point during your cruise for your 18 month old. (Private babysitting starts for those over 1 year and is done in your cabin.) We just had a private babysitter on our Royal Caribbean cruise last week for my infant and we were very pleased with the care. Book the babysitting as early in the cruise as possible at the guest relations desk.
What ports will you be going to? If you let me know, I can make some suggestions. You may want to take turns with your husband at some ports with one staying on the ship while the other goes on a shore excursion. Some of the Med shore excursions are very long (and pricey) and y our little ones would not find them enjoyable.
When do you cruise? I took a Med cruise with Royal Caribbean a while back (without kids) and loved it.
Smooth sailing,
Luisa Frey Gaynor
Old July 8th, 2002, 05:25 AM
Hollie