Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Family Cruising
Register Forgot Password?

Family Cruising Discuss family cruising - kids programs, babysitting, infant care, etc.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old November 1st, 2004, 08:16 AM
Passenger

Default need advice

I am thinking about taking my family on a cruise but I am so bewildered. I don't know where to start. I have been visiting these boards but there is so much to choose from. I will be traveling with my husband and 2 boys ages 10 and 14. They love water sports, so we definitely want to go where it is warm. What is the best ship You have ever traveled on and the most fun destination. Which ships offer the best kids activities? We are on a tight budget so I need to know where and when is the best time to travel? As you can see I am a real beginner in this area but I need a starting point. Thanks for any info you travel gurus can give me.
Sponsored Links
Old November 1st, 2004, 09:23 AM
Yeoman

Default Re: need advice

Check out Royal Caribbean's Voyager class ships. The kids clubs are supposed to be good (my son is only 2 so too young for it), and theres a ton to do on board: ice skating, rock wall climbing, inline skating, basketball, mini golf, pools, pool tables. Plus the ships are so big is fun just to explore! If you go during the holidays (or when kids are out of school) there are usually more kids than adults on board. As for where to go-everywhere is great. You need to look at each stop, and the excursions to get an idea of what you want to do. Also take into consideration the imact of the recent hurricanes. Cayman is a great stop (scuba, swimming with stingrays, snorkel) however it might not be fully operational when you want to go, and there may be some damage to the reefs. Most if not all stops have great beaches to hang out at on your own.

alison

PCL-Caribbean, Alaska, Panama Canal
12/02 RCI-Enchantment-Western Caribbean