Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Deals. Cruise Questions and Answers! > First-Time Cruisers
Register Forgot Password?

First-Time Cruisers Novices ask here & No question is too silly!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 10th, 2001, 01:07 PM
SMA
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default telephones

Hello
I will be traveling in afew shorts weeks without my daughter. I noticed that the telephone charges are extremely high. Is there computers set up for internet use?
Has anyone had trouble using there celluar phones (Sprint) in the ports in the Caribbean?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 10th, 2001, 05:58 PM
Donna's Avatar
Moderator
Admiral
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: on my computer
Posts: 26,263
Send a message via AIM to Donna
Default Re: telephones

Hi Sma,
I personally don't have a phone with me, so can't help you out there, but yes the newer ships do have internet cafe's onboard, although they usually charge $7.50 for 15 minutes. You can find the cafe's on shore much less expensive and they are usually right by the port. I'm sure some other phone users can answer the phone question, I know there is a way to have them work, have fun.

Donna
Tuesday Chat Host
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 12th, 2001, 01:56 AM
Y2C's Avatar
Y2C Y2C is offline
Senior Member
Admiral
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 2,869
Send a message via AIM to Y2C
Default Re: telephones

Donna is correct, land base internet cafes are much cheaper. As for cell phone (Sprint) which I use for business, it is worthless in the Caribbean. No connection. I once was able to hook up in Vancouver and a 3 minute phone call with roaming and other charges cost me $45.00. "Don't leave home without it", leave it home!!!

Y2C
Tuseday West Coast
Chat Host
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 14th, 2001, 02:08 AM
Senior Member
Admiral
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,266
Default Re: telephones

SMA,

My cellular provider (Verizon) has an option to activate service in Canada, in Europe, or in the Caribbean for a surcharge if I'm going to those destinations. In Europe, though, you need a different type of telephone. I'm not sure about in the Caribbean.

Norm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 28th, 2001, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
Yeoman
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 786
Default Re: telephones

One of the people we cruised with called home at every port because her sister was past her due date and she wanted to know if the baby had been born. She got an prepaid calling card that was good anywhere (they are very cheap at Sam's Club) and then just used a pay phone at the port. We use these cards as our primary long distance because it is about $0.04/minute, the rates internationally are more but it is much cheaper then using the shipboard facilities.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Public Telephones - San Juan pennypenny Princess Cruise Lines 2 March 21st, 2006 09:07 PM
telephones Lisa P Carnival Cruise Lines 5 February 17th, 2005 03:00 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:29 AM.
design by: Themes by Design

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1