Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Deals. Cruise Questions and Answers! > First-Time Cruisers
Register Forgot Password?

First-Time Cruisers Novices ask here & No question is too silly!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 7th, 2003, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
Cruise Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 196
Send a message via AIM to debv
Default Cell phone

I have a siemens something-or-another - any idea if I will get reception in the caribbean? Or should I buy a phone card incase I need to call home?

__________________



Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 7th, 2003, 08:52 PM
anita kennedy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Cell phone

try the phone in a port. Probably won't work at sea. I have heard others say phone cards may not work in other countries either. If it is real important, bite the bullet and pay the 9 dollars but don't long.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 7th, 2003, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
Cruise Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 196
Send a message via AIM to debv
Default Re: Re: Cell phone

thanks anita.

__________________



Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 8th, 2003, 05:27 PM
anita kennedy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Re: Re: Cell phone

you are welcome. My phone worked in Jamica.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 11th, 2003, 01:57 PM
Dorothy's Avatar
Senior Member
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 4,239
Default Re: Cell phone

My phone company (cingular) told me that I needed to call before I left for my cruise and get my phone "unlocked" for international calls. I don't know if I'll get reception on board or not, but I suspect I will be able to use my cell from a POC.

dorothy
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 11th, 2003, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
Cruise Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 196
Send a message via AIM to debv
Default Re: Re: Cell phone

Thanks Dorothy! I have cingular - will check it out. I wouldn't expect to be able to make calls being out to sea. Thanks!

__________________



Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 30th, 2003, 07:43 AM
Senior Member
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,021
Default Re: Cell phone

I don't believe it has to do with the specific phone you have. The service you have can tell you if it will work where. I have Verizon and they said mine will work in PR and the virgin islands but not in Mexico (we're going to Cozumel and GC) so I won't be able to use it when we get there! That sucks.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 1st, 2003, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
Admiral
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: My GPS says 12 ft. above 6 ft. under!
Posts: 7,272
Default Re: Cell phone

I have T-Mobile and it didn't work anywhere in the Caribbean. Could be because I never turned it on!

Regards,
Thomas
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 1st, 2003, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
Cruise Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 196
Send a message via AIM to debv
Default Re: Re: Cell phone

AAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAH :-) GOOD one!!!

__________________



Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cell Phone yaka Crewmembers 7 September 4th, 2010 10:54 PM
cell phone leo1944 Family Cruising 3 June 2nd, 2009 09:55 PM
cell phone use Debbie Nelson Caribbean & Panama Canal 5 April 6th, 2004 07:11 PM
cell phone Bayhook Ask CruiseMates Staff 3 October 23rd, 2001 05:17 PM
CELL PHONE Tom Ask CruiseMates Staff 3 December 17th, 2000 11:01 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:51 AM.
design by: Themes by Design

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1