Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Deals. Cruise Questions and Answers! > First-Time Cruisers
Register Forgot Password?

First-Time Cruisers Novices ask here & No question is too silly!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old March 7th, 2012, 01:55 PM
Familiar Face

Default This is my first cruise

Ok here goes. I've never taken a vacation before - much less a cruise. I've decided to book the Carnival Triumph leaving from Galveston at the end of September.
The stops are Cozumel and Progreso - any suggestions on which excursions I should check out?
Also, Do you carry cash on shore for shopping or credit cards?
Are there usually many singles in the 20-40 age range? I'm 32 - wouldnt mind meeting other singles on the cruise.
Any items that are MUST haves? I'm sure sunscreen lol. Just a total newbie that could really use advice and pointers!
Sponsored Links
Old March 7th, 2012, 03:00 PM
Captain

Carnival is a good choice for the younger crowd and many ships will have singles parties. There will be a cruise director who is in charge of on board activities you can get specific info from them. Daily activities will be in your planner which is delivered to your room each night so you can plan the next day.

I love Cozumel as a port you will find the range of choices for excursions to be dizzying. On my cruise there last week we had 6 pages of choices on that port. Swimming with dolphins, zipline, and horseback riding are always popular choices though you can also just go to the beach for the day. Personally I enjoyed snorkeling under ground in a cavern, very unique though not the best choice if your claustrophobic.

In progresso if your into history you can visit the Chichen Itza mayan ruins it's one of the seven wonders of the world. Also many beach choices there.

Its hard not to have a good time on a cruise, enjoy!
Old March 7th, 2012, 03:02 PM
Captain

Haha just noticed you also live in plano tx how small world we live in.