CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums

CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/)
-   First-Time Cruisers (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/first-time-cruisers/)
-   -   this will be my first cruise, but I have a question (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/first-time-cruisers/389644-will-my-first-cruise-but-i-have-question.html)

banana May 29th, 2012 08:33 AM

this will be my first cruise, but I have a question

Hello dear CruiseMates people,
I have a question, If you can answer, I will be happy. Sorry for my terrible English, I am very new to cruise travel and don't know how the system works.

Suppose the route of the cruise line is like this: (letters are ports; A is starting port and H is the last port)

A-B-C-D-E-F-G-H

Instead of port A, if I get on the ship from the port C (which is my city), will my cruise end in port H and then I will have to return my city by myself? Or, will the ship will bring me back to my own port? (C)?

I am hoping you understood my question.

Thanks.

Grazzt May 29th, 2012 09:47 AM

The cruise will end at port H using your example. So yes you will need to get yourself from port H back to port C your home city.

Mike M May 29th, 2012 11:00 AM

For the major cruise lines the itineraries are set. There are legal reasons you may not be able to even board in your city, even though it is a stop on the itinerary. (Passenger Services Act)

The cruise will end in Port H. If and I mean "if" you could board in your port (C) you would need to buy passage on the next cruise in order to get back to your city. That is if the next voyage included your city in the itinerary.

Cruises are different than bus routes.

Take care,
Mike

banana May 29th, 2012 11:23 AM

Thank you very much for your valuable answers. So now I know that I need to deal with flights too to go back to my home.

Paul Motter May 29th, 2012 01:41 PM

Why don't you tell us what city you hope to sail out of and maybe we have ideas on an alternative?