Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Deals. Cruise Questions and Answers! > First-Time Cruisers
Register Forgot Password?

First-Time Cruisers Novices ask here & No question is too silly!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 29th, 2012, 07:33 AM
Junior Member
Welcome Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Izmir/Turkey
Posts: 4
Red face this will be my first cruise, but I have a question

Hello dear CruiseMates people,
I have a question, If you can answer, I will be happy. Sorry for my terrible English, I am very new to cruise travel and don't know how the system works.

Suppose the route of the cruise line is like this: (letters are ports; A is starting port and H is the last port)

A-B-C-D-E-F-G-H

Instead of port A, if I get on the ship from the port C (which is my city), will my cruise end in port H and then I will have to return my city by myself? Or, will the ship will bring me back to my own port? (C)?

I am hoping you understood my question.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 29th, 2012, 08:47 AM
Junior Member
Familiar Face
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 15
Default

The cruise will end at port H using your example. So yes you will need to get yourself from port H back to port C your home city.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 29th, 2012, 10:00 AM
Mike M's Avatar
Administrator
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: You're Looking At Me
Posts: 23,557
Default

For the major cruise lines the itineraries are set. There are legal reasons you may not be able to even board in your city, even though it is a stop on the itinerary. (Passenger Services Act)

The cruise will end in Port H. If and I mean "if" you could board in your port (C) you would need to buy passage on the next cruise in order to get back to your city. That is if the next voyage included your city in the itinerary.

Cruises are different than bus routes.

Take care,
Mike
__________________
Cruisemates Community Leader/Moderator

"There is a great difference between being well traveled and just having been to many places." ~Me

"Fear is the assassin of dreams." ~Me
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 29th, 2012, 10:23 AM
Junior Member
Welcome Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Izmir/Turkey
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you very much for your valuable answers. So now I know that I need to deal with flights too to go back to my home.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 29th, 2012, 12:41 PM
Paul Motter's Avatar
Administrator
Admiral
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: in my office!
Posts: 10,589
Send a message via AIM to Paul Motter
Default

Why don't you tell us what city you hope to sail out of and maybe we have ideas on an alternative?
__________________
I am the editor, but I also speculate, ask questions and play devil's advocate. I reserve the right to change my mind.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 29th, 2012, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
Admiral
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,207
Default

Cities would definitely help us help you out.
__________________
Upcoming:

Hawaii By land x 2
Paris and German Christmas Markets
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 29th, 2012, 01:23 PM
Junior Member
Welcome Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Izmir/Turkey
Posts: 4
Default

Hello again,

The city I want to start my travel from is izmir. I noticed that generally ships that go through the "eastern mediterranean" route reaches izmir port and then continue to istanbul and then go back. but, these ships start their travel from another port, for example venice-italy.

So, would it be possible for me to get to the ship from izmir port, and then start my travel from there? if we already know that the ship will do its "second" travel too, it will reach izmir port again in its second travel, so, i am assuming that the ship will bring me back to my home. Is this correct?
Thank you very much

For example, in here: (the second one; 14 nights adriatic..)
Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL) - Search Results
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 29th, 2012, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
Admiral
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by banana View Post
Hello again,

The city I want to start my travel from is izmir. I noticed that generally ships that go through the "eastern mediterranean" route reaches izmir port and then continue to istanbul and then go back. but, these ships start their travel from another port, for example venice-italy.

So, would it be possible for me to get to the ship from izmir port, and then start my travel from there? if we already know that the ship will do its "second" travel too, it will reach izmir port again in its second travel, so, i am assuming that the ship will bring me back to my home. Is this correct?
Thank you very much

For example, in here: (the second one; 14 nights adriatic..)
Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL) - Search Results
Hi - no, that would entail two cruises. You would have to disembark where the first cruise ends. You could probably board in Izmir, you just need to make arrangements with the cruiseline ahead of time.
__________________
Upcoming:

Hawaii By land x 2
Paris and German Christmas Markets
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 30th, 2012, 07:11 AM
Junior Member
Welcome Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Izmir/Turkey
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you very much
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
change, cruise, izmir, join, port, route, starting

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One more cruise question Lakers Fan Ask CruiseMates Staff 5 April 25th, 2012 07:04 PM
Cruise question Lakers Fan Ask CruiseMates Staff 9 April 24th, 2012 11:19 PM
Question regarding booking next cruise while on a cruise? Smiles32617 Carnival Cruise Lines 6 November 9th, 2010 02:35 PM
Cruise Question Heather22 Teen Cruisers 9 August 26th, 2009 03:35 PM
New cruise question pamlennan Cruise Dress / Packing 9 October 11th, 2007 11:37 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 AM.
design by: Themes by Design

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1