Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Practical Advice > Health at Sea
Register Forgot Password?

Health at Sea Questions on the treatment of sea sickness and other cruise-related health topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old August 1st, 2005, 09:29 AM
A Mother that knows
Default Keeping Diabetes Under Control

Do you have problems doing this on cruises? And what do you do if you have a problem?
Sponsored Links
Old August 3rd, 2005, 07:43 PM
s langham
Default Re: Keeping Diabetes Under Control

I am a registered nurse, and the first thing that I would advise you to do is to make your healthcare provider aware of your upcoming cruise and ask if they have any advice or any specific "do's" or "don'ts".

You'll want to make sure that you take enough of your medication (insulin or oral meds) with you to allow for the length of the cruise and a little bit over. Make sure to pack your glucometer and plenty of testing strips. We all have the tendency to overeat on cruises, and we have such a yummy selection of food. This tendency to over-indulge can really play havoc with your blood sugar. Although different manufacturers give different advice on whether or not insulin needs to be refrigerated, it's not a bad idea to let your cabin steward know up-front that you need to keep a container of ice in your room at all times for your medication.

Keep well-hydrated, and check your blood sugar frequently. I'm sure that the ship's infirmary is equipped to handle any minor glitches with your blood sugar that might come up.

skl rn
Old August 8th, 2005, 09:03 AM
A Mother that knows

Thank you for your info. Good ideas and I know all this. I am just wondering how other cruisers deal with this while on their cruise
Old August 10th, 2005, 05:55 PM