CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums

CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/)
-   Health at Sea (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/health-sea/)
-   -   Packing vitamins (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/health-sea/325893-packing-vitamins.html)

Artistammy January 11th, 2007 09:11 AM

Packing vitamins

For the airlines & customs do you need to have vitamins in original containers like prescriptions? I'd rather be able to pack them in a pill box if it will work.
Thanks,
Tammy

Fern January 11th, 2007 09:35 PM

Hi Tammy,

Welcome to Cruisemates!

Pack your vitamins in the pill box and put it in your checked luggage. I've not heard of anyone stopped because of "loose" pills in a pill box, but it could happen!

AF1 March 12th, 2007 06:11 PM

Vitamins

I travel for a living and pack my vitamins in a seven day pill case. Have never been questioned yet. :D

Mike M March 12th, 2007 07:04 PM

Unless you are taking a LARGE number of vitamins per day then packing them in a seven day container will be just fine.

I also suggest that you put them in your carry on rather than your checked baggage. It is possible that your baggage could be lost and your vitamins with them. You "could" take the labels off the bottles and put them in your carry on in the, unlikely, event there is a question.

I have cruised around fifteen times since 9/11/01 and have never had a problem with any medication that has been in a seven day pill container. These have all been prescription medications. However I do take the prescription labels with me for all prescription medications.

The only thing that has ever been questioned were injectable medications.

Take care,
Mike

billbelt July 9th, 2009 11:57 AM

Vitiamins

Mike has provided the same advice we use and we have never had a problem.

rollerdonna May 20th, 2010 08:19 AM

I take prescription meds as well as vitamins and have always used a weekly pill container and never had any problems.