Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Holland America
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old August 7th, 2003, 11:23 AM
Joe R

Default Holland Upgrades

I am perfectly aware that upgrades are a crap shoot. I am going on HAL for the first time and was curious to know what (if any) upgrades have been given out.

Joe R
Phoenix, AZ
Sponsored Links
Old August 7th, 2003, 12:04 PM
Julia Elzie

Default Re: Holland Upgrades

Hello,

I am a travel consultant and I can offer a few comments.... I think that you have reason to be optimistic!

Did you reserve a guarantee stateroom? If so, I think your chances are especially good for a really nice upgrade. Most of my clients get upgrades of 5 or 6 categories and can go from a minimum inside to a top category. In almost 10 years in the industry, I can only remember a few occasions - less than five - when clients didn't get a really nice upgrade on their cabins. Holland America Line is a really lovely cruise line and they do their best to accommodate special requests, even on guarantee staterooms. Just recently, some clients did not want to be on the lowest deck and I made a note in their reservation of this special request. When the special request was not received, HAL was very kind and gracious and reviewed the room assignment. Ultimately, the clients' special request was accommodated and they were re-assigned to another deck.

Of course, these guarantees are not guaranteed, but I have rarely seen a guarantee stateroom category not receive some sort of an upgrade. By the way, the common wisdom is that a mid-ship location is the best - I like the staterooms that are located forward or aft because there are fewer people passing outside your door on a regular basis and it tends to be more quiet and private.

Have a great day!
Old August 7th, 2003, 12:15 PM
Captain