Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Holland America
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old April 27th, 2006, 09:18 AM
Beginner

Default Didn't book shore excursions

I'm new to cruising and didn't realize you had to book the excursions over 10 days out online. So here I am a few days out with nothing booked. Can I book them on the ship? Will there be anything left?

Also the ship is overbooked and they have been asking for volunteers to sail at a different time. As my husband and I are in the military and this is our once in a lifetime, celebrating safely returning from Afghanistan trip we can't change our sailing dates - can they bump us?

Any help anyone can give me would be great. Thank you so much!!
Sponsored Links
Old April 27th, 2006, 12:34 PM
First Mate

Have never heard of anyone being bumped off of a cruise that has been paid for up front.As for tours make your reservations as soon as you get on the ship as the desk will be open at that time Sometimes some may be sold out but ther are numerous alternatives and if it is sold out of one you want you may be able to book something on your own at the port you are visiting and many times much cheaper .Find another couple or two desiring to do the same thing and share the expense.
Old April 27th, 2006, 10:22 PM
Beginner

Which cruise are you on????
We can probably give you some sites to book privately if we know the ports!!
Old April 28th, 2006, 06:47 AM
Beginner

We are on the HAL Rotterdam. Ports are: Athens, Varna, Odessa, Constanta, Istanbul, Kusadasi, Rhodes, Alexandria, Corfu, Dubrovnic. The main one I am worried about it Alexandria, Egypt. We have never been there before and really want to use our time effectively. Any suggestions?
Old April 28th, 2006, 08:25 PM
Admiral

Hi ladolcevita,