CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums

CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/)
-   Holland America (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/holland-america/)
-   -   I'll Never Understand........ (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/holland-america/327749-ill-never-understand.html)

sail7seas February 9th, 2007 02:42 PM

I'll Never Understand........

I have been posting on several cruise Message Boards for many years and enjoy it very much. If I can't be on a ship at least I can be reading and talking about cruising/ships.

On the various Boards I visit, there are always more people who read and do not post than people who post on a regular basis.

I have never been able to understand how some folks don't ever post on any thread. I can see that maybe many threads don't interest them enough to post or maybe they don't have anything to add but for NO SUBJECTS? It is a puzzle to me that they wouldn't want to express an opinion about anything, ever ask a question, every answer a question or simply play around a little.

Of course there is absolutely nothing wrong with that but it is a puzzle to me. Maybe because I 'talk so much'. ;)

Can someone try to explain to me. Thanks.

jaggy February 9th, 2007 04:04 PM

Its strictly a guess, but I think a lot of people are somewhat intimidated. All to often, on the internet, a person takes that plunge and submits their first post of their opinions. Then, inevitably they get beat up and flamed and discouraged.

The internet tends to be a harsh environment. Not so much on the cruise boards, but in a lot of other forums. People tend to be much more bold and controversial than they would ever be in person. A lot of times you find yourself embroiled in a flame war trying to defend your opinion, or worse, your likes and dislikes. It always struck me as being odd that I should have to defend what I like or dont like. But, it happens. Even here.