Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Holland America
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old February 10th, 2007, 04:51 AM
Welcome Newcomer

Default Guest speaker has questions

I've been ask to be a guest speaker on HAL's "Vikings and the Czars" cruise in June of 2007. I'm very excited as this will be my first cruise and I was interested in hearing some thoughts and opinions from experienced cruisers as to what they enjoyed about a guest speaker program and what they did not like. I am a composer/conductor so my three talks will be about 1. Music for the Olympics (I was music director of the the '96 Summer Olympics in Atlanta and the 2002 Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City). 2. Music for Animation and 3. The Academy Awards; I conducted the show in 2002. I would very much appreciate any input you might have.
Sponsored Links
Old February 11th, 2007, 11:25 PM
Cruise Maniac

Oh that sounds interesting. I know you'll enjoy cruising. I would think that people would enjoy hearing about how you come up with ideas for music. How you decide what would be good for a particular theme. They might also like to hear little known things about music in general. As a former teacher maybe you could use interactive methods to get a hook into the group. People on cruises love to learn so whatever you throw at them will be fine. Be sure to tell them stories about yourself and especially about the Olympics. Most of your audience will be well versed on the Olympics you worked on since they were in the US. They'll also be interested in the animation work and how you put music to that. I wish I was going to be along for your talks. I know they'll be fascinating. Have fun.

Constellation
Old February 11th, 2007, 11:46 PM
Welcome Newcomer

Thanks Bridget. I do plan to have video clips for all three lectures. Your suggestions were great and I appreciate them.
Old February 14th, 2007, 06:21 PM
Passenger