Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Princess Cruise Lines
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old January 29th, 2005, 01:33 PM
Mike H.

Default Sun Princess Review , Just Returned 1/28/05

We just returned from the ten day Eastern Caribbean Voyager route on the Sun Princess. In general it was a good cruise. We unfortunately booked this cruise w/o knowing that Princess had booked 800+ members of the Florida Condo Association as a group on this cruise. Having somewhere between 800 and 900 seventy year old plus cruisers on board really changes the dynamic of any cruise. I would suggest that with any cruise booking have your travel agent check with the cruise line to see if a group like this is booked.

The Ship:
As a Marine Surveyor I was amazed at the condition of this ten year old ship. The maintance officer and his crew are doing a great job. The public rooms are in amazing shape for a ship that has been at sea for ten years. Everything is fresh and well appointed. The majority of "wear and tear" that I saw was in the public restrooms and in the cabin restrooms. Before booking I had read that the "sewer gas smell" on a number of decks was still a problem. I called Princess before making my final payment to see if the problem had been resolved, they assured me that it was repaired in the resent "yard period" the Sun had been in. Well they "LIED". We had a very strong "sewer gas odor" in our cabin for seven of the ten days of the cruise. The smell was especially bad on Caribe Deck port side between C406 and past C538. At first Princess told us it was our imaginations. When about 20 of us showed up at the pursers desk with the same complaint the story changed and on the 8th day of the cruise the smell was somewhat abated.

The Cabin: