Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Princess Cruise Lines
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 12th, 2007, 05:11 PM
Beginner

Default Sun Princess- Panama Canal

I was just on the Sun Princess for 18 days on the Grand Panama Canal cruise. It was a respositioning cruise, we departed Ft Lauderdale on April 19th and went to Aruba, through the Canal, Panama City, Costa Rica, Huatulco, Acapulco, Cabo San Lucas, San Diego and Seattle.

This was only my second cruise, so I am still a newbie. I had a terrific time. I decided to maintain a daily travel log on my blog, with information and lots of photos of the ship, food and ports. You can check out all 19 days of travel posts at http://www.rickrockhill.blogspot.com scroll back to April 18th for the beginning. If you want to know if you will like a cruise, especially a long one, my blog will be very helpful and should give you a good feel for crusing.

I was in a mini suite with balcony, which made all the difference, since we were on the ship for so long. Although the Sun Princess is starting to show its age, I thought it was very well maintained and still looks good.

Service

The service was very good. Plenty of crew to passengers, and I always felt well tended to. I signed up for the late seating, and the waiters in the dining room for dinner were really excellent. The breakfast crew inthe Regency dining room seemed a little less attentive though. There were a few crew members in particular that were really nice: Gabriella, from Romania (waitress in Regency dining room), Jose-Carlos, bartender on TopSiders and Vista Lounge, and Vladimir, bar steward from the pool deck and Rendez Vous Lounge. These three people really made the cruise special and a lot of fun.

Activities