Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Princess Cruise Lines
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old March 27th, 2008, 10:50 PM
Beginner

Default Golden Princess - The Good, The Bad, The Ugly? Help!

Hello Everyone - this is my first time on any type of Message Board and I have never cruised before, but my in-laws are celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary in 2009 and want to take the family on a cruise to Hawaii in January 2009 (11 of us ranging in ages 13 to 70). They have been on 3 or 4 cruises so far, but not Hawaii. I have been doing tonnes of research (Internet and library), and there is so much information and alot of it conflicting you don't what to think. I think my head might explode (hehehe)! We are looking at the Golden Princess cruise departing Los Angeles on January 21, 2009. Can anyone tell me what state the Golden Princess is in? From what I can tell it was launched in 2001, but nowhere can I see whether the ship has undergone any interior refurbishment. I called Princess and they said it was refurbished in November 2006, but couldn't give me any details on what that entailed (weird I thought), but then I read posts that said that it is dated and in disrepair and needs to be refurbished. Because I have never cruised before, I have visions of everything being luxurious, but then I wonder by what I have read. We are also looking at the 15 day cruise on the Zaandam from HAL, but Los Angeles is easier for us to get to instead of San Diego where HAL sails from.

Also, anyone know what the Pacific Ocean is like to cross in January (i.e. is it rough and what type of temperature to expect on the open sea)?

Thanks for all your help?
Sponsored Links
Old March 28th, 2008, 07:17 PM
Admiral

I have been on the Golden twice. Enjoyed both cruises. I did not find the ship in need of any drastic repairs.