Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Royal Caribbean International
Register Forgot Password?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 11th, 2005, 05:25 PM
tripp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default poor experience-ROYAL BOMB!

Sailed on Sovereign of the Seas - 3rd time with Royal Caribbean but last - due to significant problems we were promised a full refund to use on a future cruise - Royal Caribbean NEVER came through - kept telling us it was in the mail repeatedly - finally stopped calling after 18 months of calling every month - BE WARY OF this cruise line - get anything in writing before you leave the ship if you have a problem.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 11th, 2005, 05:56 PM
Sis
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: poor experience-ROYAL BOMB!

What was the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 11th, 2005, 08:00 PM
Member
Passenger
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 52
Default Re: poor experience-ROYAL BOMB!

We're about to sail in two weeks on the four-day.. I would be interested in knowing what happened, as well. Sorry to hear that things went badly..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 11th, 2005, 10:43 PM
tripp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Re: poor experience-ROYAL BOMB!

Our son became sick the first day of the trip. The ship's doctor said it might be the Norwalk Virus (without running tests, etc.) and requested that he stay in his cabin for the duration of the cruise so that other passengers would not be exposed. He also requested that his roommate, girlfriend and her roommate be confined to their cabins as well for the duration of the trip since they might be contagious. However, he was only sick for the 1st day, not the NOrwalk Virus. Nonetheless, the doctor stated that he did not want to alarm other passengers and asked us to have these 4 young adults stay in their cabins for the entire cruise and NOT to tell any passengers on board about his illness. If we complied we would all receive a full refund and be highly compensated- 4 youths and their parents for a future cruise. Being good sports (although very unhappy) these 4 young adults all stayed in their cabins for the entire cruise (watching movies, getting meals in their rooms, etc.) The adults also remained on board to be with them. We were told to call guest relations when we docked for the arrangements for a future cruise. When we called Royal Carribean they began to give us the runaround. They kept promising to send us a refund or vouchers for the future cruise and kept asking us to "further clarify" what happened. We sent letters, faxes, a letter from a disease specialist, etc. The agent we spoke to kept telling us that the refund was "in the mail"--=Everytime we called = once 1 month for over a year - She kept apologizing and stating that she would personally take care of it and that she was so sorry that it was such a mix up. -- Guess what? Still NOTHING FROM Royal Carribean. We had sailed with them twice before this incident and had great times and hoped to sail with them again. There were 16 people in our party from this cruise and none of us will travel on this boat or line again!! BEWARE = get anything in writing before you get off of the boat if something goes wrong. Sorry this is such a long e-mail but we remain very disgusted.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 11th, 2005, 11:46 PM
AUTigerMom
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Re: Re: poor experience-ROYAL BOMB!

"Nonetheless, the doctor stated that he did not want to alarm other passengers and asked us to have these 4 young adults stay in their cabins for the entire cruise and NOT to tell any passengers on board about his illness. If we complied we would all receive a full refund and be highly compensated- 4 youths and their parents for a future cruise. "


First of all I am not sure the ships doctor has the power to award anyone a refund or free trip. Secondly, if a physician actually said what I included as a quote from your post that is UNETHICAL.
Any ethical Medical professional will tell you that for a professional to offer a reward for silence ESPECIALLY about a possibly contagious virus should be reported to the AMA immediately.
I assume you got the persons name that promised you the refund. It is your duty to report that.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 12th, 2005, 12:58 AM
Jodi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: poor experience-ROYAL BOMB!

Chances are that this doctor is not licensed by the AMA, but from another country (unless they were American, which isn't usually the case) so contacting the AMA wouldn't help...which is too bad.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 12th, 2005, 09:12 AM
Member
Passenger
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 52
Default Re: poor experience-ROYAL BOMB!

So sorry to hear about all the hassle.. have you tried contacting the Better Business Bureau in the state in which RCI is headquartered? Also, if you have a list of the dates/customer service agents who were promising a refund.. send a certified letter to the executive offices at RCI with a recap of your story and any pertinent details. (include the fact that you were a loyal RCI cruiser, part of a relatively large party of travelers, etc)

Good Luck.

I went through a bad experience on Carnival and followed the steps outlined above and the situation was resolved.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 12th, 2005, 09:22 AM
Member
Passenger
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 52
Default Re: poor experience-ROYAL BOMB!

Here's the address for Royal Caribbean Cruises, LTD

The CEO is Mr. Richard Fain

1050 Caribbean Way
Miami, FL 33132

The Better Business Bureau of Southeastern Florida has a hotline:
561-842-1918

Good Luck.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 14th, 2005, 12:34 PM
VICTORIA#61
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Re: Re: poor experience-ROYAL BOMB!

I think I got the virus on the nav. I just returned and my last dau was in the infirmary. They did not run any tests. I threw up my entire body. I will never book again..
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 14th, 2005, 06:07 PM
kandk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: poor experience-ROYAL BOMB!

Not to be critical but sometime people can make some very large assumptions. On two different threads that I have read VICTORIA#61 seamed to have had a bad experience and is pointing blame. In February 2003 my 11 year old daughter was sick the last day of our cruise, on the bus to the airport, at the airport, on the plane and in the car on the final leg of the trip. I will never know what the cause was, maybe the bug was picked up while on shore, but it did not effect the great time we had the rest of the week and the memories that came home with us. And yes we are booked on another cruise.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 14th, 2005, 06:22 PM
newmexiconita
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: poor experience-ROYAL BOMB!

kandk, I agree with you 100%. Tripp seems to have a legit complaint, he was promised something that was not delivered even though the person who promised it may not have had the authority to do so: VICTORIA#61 is just one of those out there that has to blame someone. Even if she did get the Norwalk from the ship she has no idea where as many have gotten sick on every cruise line in the past 3 or 4 years. If she doesn't want to book with RCI again that's her choice, but to be upset cause she was sick the last day is rediculous. NMNita
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bomb, caribbean, royal

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My experience with Royal Romance karilynn Wedding Plans on Ships 3 November 16th, 2009 08:17 PM
Royal Ambassadors/Aqua Theater Experience FL_Cruiser64 Royal Caribbean International 42 April 16th, 2009 08:32 PM
Mariner of the Seas - Our Experience - Royal Caribbean BMJJR Royal Caribbean International 7 August 2nd, 2008 12:18 PM
Weather Bomb Lombard Chit - Chat for Cruisers 11 August 1st, 2008 07:39 PM
Poor condition of Royal Suite on Spendour Laura R. Royal Caribbean International 2 April 27th, 2004 10:04 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.
design by: Themes by Design

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1