Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Royal Caribbean International
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old February 28th, 2006, 12:38 AM
Beginner

Default TIPS aka Gratuities

OK so I am a travel agent .
I hate the tipping policy onboard :evil: -as someone who spent many years as a server I never had my 'tips' demanded of my customers as do the cruiseline employees nor had the amounts pre-determined.

"For children sailing as third or fourth passenger in the stateroom, tipping is at the parents' discretion." This is a quote from a review on your site by your(Cruisemates)writer. YEAH RIGHT I wholeheartedly agree but try getting away with it. I at least think that the 3rd/4th should be lower, but if you pre-pay or add it to the room it's full amount for all 4 as they think it should be.

More and more I hear the question "this is all inclusive- but I pay for soda,juices,well brands,tips......
The all-inclusive land packages are growing in popularity because of that!
Cruiselines take note.
Sponsored Links
Old February 28th, 2006, 01:33 AM
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Kuki

When the cruise lines first instituted the automatic tipping policy my first reaction to it was negative.

However after looking at it for awhile, and experiencing it onboard ships, I've changed my mind.

Every passenger has the ability to tip just as they did they did before, without putting it on their shipboard account. The servers will know that you've removed the "automatic tips", but they'll appreciate it just as much if you had them an envelope.

Though it can be argued, the tips going on the shipboard card are a convenient tool for passengers. As well, they are effective for the crew.