Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Royal Caribbean International
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old February 5th, 2007, 05:49 PM
Passenger

Send a message via AIM to Turner13
Default help me please

i am new to cruising and i hear if there is bad weather or some other stuff the cruise ship wont go and stop to like say mexico .. does this happen regularly
Sponsored Links
Old February 5th, 2007, 07:09 PM
Admiral

Default Re: help me please

Turner13,

Quote:
Originally Posted by You
i am new to cruising and i hear if there is bad weather or some other stuff the boat wont go and stop to like say mexico .. does this happen regularly
In 22 cruises, I have had only one port of call disrupted by bad weather. A hurricane struck Key West about four or five days before our scheduled arrival during a transatlantic cruise in October 2005, forcing local authorities to close the port for a couple weeks. It does not happen often, but it can happen. Of course, it's somewhat more likely if you book a cruise going to the Caribbean or to Bermuda during hurricane season (June through November) than if you book a cruise to another destination or at another time of year.

There have also been instances in which ships have deviated from their scheduled itineraries due to severe storms headed into their paths. The major cruise lines try to arrange alternate ports of call when such situations arise. A few years ago, one ship that was scheduled to go to Bermuda when a hurricane was bearing down on the island went to Canada's maritime provinces and New England instead. Again, such deviations are rare but more likely on Caribbean and Bermuda itineraries during hurricane season than either at other times of the year or in other destinations.