CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums

CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/)
-   Royal Caribbean International (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/royal-caribbean-international/)
-   -   Allure 12/12 and Formal nights (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/royal-caribbean-international/378081-allure-12-12-formal-nights.html)

Euphonic November 12th, 2010 10:52 PM

Allure 12/12 and Formal nights

Hello, I was thinking about renting a tux on formal night...but if it wouldnt seem in bad taste I would rather save my money. I still would like to experience the fine dining of the main dining rooms...would it be out of line to just wear black slacks with a dress shirt and tie with dress shoes and belt... without a dinner jacket?

Thanks,
Steve

sierrawine November 13th, 2010 06:42 PM

I've no experience on Allure but I've been on several cruises on various lines. Your attire seems perfectly fine. That tie goes a long way! I've seen people much fancier (tux) and MUCH more casual (polo shirt, khakis) at formal nights. I think you'd be totally fine!

johnthed0g November 13th, 2010 06:48 PM

Surely you can't be too well dressed on a formal night, if you are the only one in a tux then it is one time that the minority is right!!

Donna November 13th, 2010 06:52 PM

To be on the safe side, I think I'd just pack a suit...You may want to have some formal pics taken?

johnthed0g November 13th, 2010 06:59 PM

A suit sounds good....
I REALLY wish these cruise lines would state what they want or just scrap the dress codes.

Donna November 13th, 2010 07:03 PM

I agree with you John.

Euphonic November 13th, 2010 11:36 PM