Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Royal Caribbean International
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old November 12th, 2010, 10:52 PM
Familiar Face

Default Allure 12/12 and Formal nights

Hello, I was thinking about renting a tux on formal night...but if it wouldnt seem in bad taste I would rather save my money. I still would like to experience the fine dining of the main dining rooms...would it be out of line to just wear black slacks with a dress shirt and tie with dress shoes and belt... without a dinner jacket?

Thanks,
Steve
Old November 13th, 2010, 06:42 PM
Beginner

I've no experience on Allure but I've been on several cruises on various lines. Your attire seems perfectly fine. That tie goes a long way! I've seen people much fancier (tux) and MUCH more casual (polo shirt, khakis) at formal nights. I think you'd be totally fine!
Old November 13th, 2010, 06:48 PM
Admiral

Surely you can't be too well dressed on a formal night, if you are the only one in a tux then it is one time that the minority is right!!
Old November 13th, 2010, 06:52 PM
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Donna

To be on the safe side, I think I'd just pack a suit...You may want to have some formal pics taken?

Message Boards Moderator
Old November 13th, 2010, 06:59 PM
Admiral

A suit sounds good....
I REALLY wish these cruise lines would state what they want or just scrap the dress codes.
Old November 13th, 2010, 07:03 PM
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Donna

I agree with you John.

Message Boards Moderator
Old November 13th, 2010, 11:36 PM
Familiar Face