Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Royal Caribbean International
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old December 28th, 2012, 12:57 PM
Welcome Newcomer

Red face Child Dress Code: Need Update

The last posting I see on this topic is from years ago and I know from experience, things have changed but the dress codes published by the cruiselines have not changed much.

I have been crusing with my son since about 2001. I have noticed over the years that children are allowed to dress less and less casual in the dining room. At our cruise last year on Carnival, jeans and collared shirts were acceptable with atheltic shoes in the dining room. Last time I bought him clothes for a cruise, that was about the only time he wore them. We are taking a cruise on Royal Carribean's Allure of the Seas in April, is Royal Carribean as relaxed? Please help before I spend $ on new clothes he won't wear twice (he's a teenager now). Also, Is a shirt and tie necessary for formal night?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Old December 28th, 2012, 02:14 PM
Administrator
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Paul Motter

That is funny - you say "less and less casual" - while most people would say the opposite, I believe.

This is from the RC web site:

There are three distinct types of evenings onboard: casual, smart casual and formal.

Suggested guidelines for these nights are:

Casual: Sport shirts and slacks for men, sundresses or pants for women
Smart Casual: Jackets and ties for men, dresses or pantsuits for women
Formal: Suits and ties or tuxedos for men, cocktail dresses for women

The number of smart casual and formal nights is at the ship's discretion.

Generally, most nights are smart casual, formal occurs every three or four days (twice on an seven night cruise).

The rest are casual.