Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Practical Advice > Shore Excursions
Register Forgot Password?

Shore Excursions Snorkeling, SCUBA, sightseeing - discuss ports and activities

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old September 21st, 2004, 07:25 AM
travel writer

Default do-it-yourself shore excursions

Hi cruisers.. I'm a NYC-based travel writer researching an article for a major travel magazine on cruise line shore excursions. I'm interested in hearing from people, for possible quotation in the article, who avoid ship-operated shore excursions (either because they don't like group tours, or think shore excursions are overpriced or for whatever other reasons). What are your tips for arranging do-it-yourself excurions, what kind of money have you saved compared to ship-operated excurions, and are there any caveats or complications that you'd care to mention? Please reply by email. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Old September 26th, 2004, 10:04 AM
Cruise Maniac

Default Re: do-it-yourself shore excursions

I'll be able to help you out on this one after I return from a POA cruise I am taking in October. We have reserved rental cars for all islands and are not taking any excursions through the ship.

Our first cruise was a Celebrity about 6 years ago that went to Key West, Ocho Rios, Cozumel and Grand Cayman. We booked shore exursions through the ship and were very pleased with all of them - we felt it was the best way to see places when we only had a day at each stop.