Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Singles
Register Forgot Password?

Singles Talk to other single cruisers about cruising in groups or cruising solo.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old September 10th, 2001, 04:54 PM
Cruise Maniac

Default It's Not Easy Being Short!

Hi Everyone,

My name is Rob and I am currently a practicing attorney in New York City. I decided to start this discussion because I am becoming increasingly frustrated with the manner in which people react to me as a professional of small stature. I am 5'4", and have found it to be somewhat of a professional impediment to say the least - it seems that somehow people automatically associate height with power and credibility.

However, I found a new product that I have been using for the past couple months, and find it quite helpful. They are simple foam shoe inserts, that give you between an extra 1-2 inches of height, and no one can tell you are wearing them. As terrible as it sounds, I have actually noticed a marked improvement in my business and personal relationships when I am wearing them (I use the 2 inch model).

I order them from www.shoelift.com, and am interested in finding out if anyone else uses them and has noticed the differences I have. Also, does anyone else out there find how such a nominal thing as someone's height (or lack thereof) can cause such a significant impact in business and personal relations? Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated,

Regards,

Rob
Sponsored Links
Old September 12th, 2001, 09:27 AM
jparr

Default Re: It's Not Easy Being Short!

Rob.....I'm short too, but being female it's never bothered me! I remember in school when we had to line up for pictures by height.....I was always at the end of the line. I can understand your feelings, especially with your profession! Glad to hear you found a product to help. Hang in there!