Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Practical Advice > Tipping
Register Forgot Password?

Tipping Discuss policies, guidelines and protocol for tipping on ships here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old December 6th, 2003, 01:25 PM
Passenger

Default one simple tipping question

This may be a dumb question but I've never been on a cruise and am totally confused with the whole tipping thing.
Here is my really simple (i think) tipping question.

Do we give out *all* tips at the end of the trip????

What I mean is should we give out small tips during the week for whatever, like people bringing our baggage to our cabin (although I heard your baggage will be there before you right?).

i would just be horrified if I stiffed someone and didn't mean to, I'm new to both crusing and this whole tipping thing other than in resteraunts.

Lisa
Sponsored Links
Old December 6th, 2003, 03:22 PM
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Donna
Default Re: one simple tipping question

Lisa,
When you first arrive at the pier, hand over your luggage to the porters there and tip them a dollar or 2 per bag. The rest of the tips you'll give out the last nite out. Now, depending on what cruiseline you are on, some of them have automatic tipping, where it taken out of your Credit card at the end of the cruise, usually $10 per day, per person.

When you order drinks, you pay using your sign/sail card and a tip is already added on to the price, so no extra tips there.

Message Boards Moderator
Old December 6th, 2003, 05:37 PM
Passenger

Default Re: Re: one simple tipping question

thank you for clarifying that i feel better now.
:-)

Lisa

Serenade of the Seas
Old December 18th, 2003, 06:11 PM
jamie gunter

Also make sure you tip for room service if you order. If you go on any excursions, you could tip the operator if you want to also.
Old December 20th, 2003, 09:17 PM
Cruise Maniac

Is there any such thing as a simple tipping question???