Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Practical Advice > Tipping
Register Forgot Password?

Tipping Discuss policies, guidelines and protocol for tipping on ships here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old August 30th, 2006, 06:02 PM
Beginner

Default Never Tipping

Hi, Im new here, great to be a part of this forum.

Am i the only person that never tips on cruises? I thought after a recent trip I was considered the odd one out on our voyage, I chose not to tip, as I consider it insulting, to the employee in question. Like taking scraps from a table.

Anyone else feel the same?

Would love to get to know you guys here better!
Sponsored Links
Old August 30th, 2006, 08:20 PM
Passenger

I always tip the full amount suggested. I work in the service industry, and tips are a big part for most peoples salary. The cruise line payes them very little, I have heard $50 a week. They work very hard, very long hours. Its insulting to them not to tip them for their hard work in my opinion. Now if you had bad service, thats different.
Old August 30th, 2006, 08:51 PM
Passenger

Default Re: Never Tipping

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunkycruiser

Am i the only person that never tips on cruises? I thought after a recent trip I was considered the odd one out on our voyage, I chose not to tip, as I consider it insulting, to the employee in question. Like taking scraps from a table.

Hunkycruiser,

Did you pay them instead? Tipping or not tipping is your decision. But, very few cruise lines have a no tipping allowed policy. Most cruise lines even add the tip directly to your onboard account. Most also suggest the amount to tip. Have you ever wonder why they do that? In a fine dining establishment in my area they add as much as 18% to the bill as a tip you have a party larger than 8 people. Ever wonder why? Unless you tip the person, who helpeed make you vacation so nice, got paid less than minimum wage.