Noordam Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Excellent
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.1
from 22 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

22 User Reviews of Noordam Cruise Ship

Eastern and Western Mediterranean
Publication Date: May 29, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a twenty-day cruise aboard the Noordam (May 28-June 18, 2008). The cruise itinerary included a 10-day loop in both the Western and Eastern Mediterranean. This was our seventh cruise and the first aboard Holland America. Our most recent cruise was January 2008 aboard Carnival Conquest, and we looked forward to a quieter and more elegant journey on the Noordam. Overall we had a pleasant trip, although we did not feel that the experience was a significant improvement over previous journeys on other cruise lines. I am in my late fifties and my husband is sixty-two, so we concluded that HAL would be a great choice. However, we do not plan to travel aboard a large HAL ship in the future.

We stayed in a superior veranda suite (8073). Spacious and well organized, we were very comfortable in the room and on the balcony. If the side chairs near the sofa are moved slightly, there is plenty of walking space and easy access to the balcony. The only change I noticed from previous cabins was the ceiling appeared lower on this ship. The décor in the

cabin was pleasant, with warm colors and attractive artwork. This was is sharp contrast to the busy carpet and mismatched art in the hallways. Our floor had a very busy modern blue carpet, Polynesian wall panels in shiny blues and purple and floral wall art framed in bright red matting. The overall hallway décor was neither calming or attractive. My husband and I traveled with one large bag each and found that there was plenty of room under the bed for luggage storage. If you plan to travel with several large pieces of luggage you may find the closet space inadequate. The closets have adjustable shelves than will accommodate long and short hanging garments as well as folded items. Additional storage is located in bedside drawers, end tables and desks. We purchased the pricey suite amenities package ($636.00) because we wanted to have clothing washed and pressed each day (no self-laundry facilities on board and you may not iron in the stateroom). We didn't realize that we could purchase laundry facilities separately. The suite amenities package did include a variety of extras that we could have done without such as bar set-up, coffee cards, canapés etc. No one fully explained the amenities included; we asked the booking agent at HAL on two occasions prior to leaving. We were unsure of all the options available to us until we asked the staff at the front desk on day 11 of our trip.

Issues and Areas in Need of Improvement Food quality aboard the ship was unexceptional at best. The only exceptions were the pastries served in the dining room and the lido café. We ate in the Pinnacle Grill three nights (additional fee). If you plan to do this, avoid any of the menu items beyond grilled meats as we were very disappointed with the seafood entrees. Be sure and ask the wine steward about prices for wine at the Pinnacle Grill. The most modest bottle was in the 50 dollar range and the prices varied dramatically from wine served in the main dining room.

Food service was often slow in the Vista dining room. (A 2.5 hour dining window was not uncommon and on one occasion we were awaiting dessert at the 3 hour mark). The second ten days of the cruise the ship appeared more crowded. We were told this might have been due to cabins that contained three or four travelers (more kids). Reservations were then encouraged in the open seating portion of the dining room, although this didn't eliminate waiting or being asked to return to the dining room at a later time. We enjoyed dining with a variety of travelers, however conversation was awkward at a table for ten. Tables for six seemed to provide the most comfortable dining environment. Some large cruise ships provide a variety of dining locations (with the same menu). This seems to eliminate waiting and the unfortunate crowding that occurred in the narrow hallway outside the Vista dining room.

Casual dining was provided on the Lido deck (9). There are food service stations and the lines could be quite lengthy. We noticed lines at occasional breakfasts and lunches that exceeded 30 persons for omelets, waffles, and sandwiches -- perhaps individual menu items should be minimized in order to more efficiently feed the larger number of passengers. Passenger bottlenecks also occurred at the juice, drinks (water, tea) and the pasta lines. The Lido café seems to have been designed for self-service, however the current process has staff members impeding the effectiveness of the layout. We concluded that this was less an issue with poor service than a confusion regarding the small ship service model and the systems required for larger numbers of travelers.

Port Visits and Excursions The security staff was always professional and efficient. The port lecturer (Ian) was helpful during his office hours in the library/internet area and anytime we debarked from a visit. There were two additional lecturers on the cruise. The first ten days the lecturer provided scholarly talks on the history of the Mediterranean. I attended a very enjoyable lecture on piracy. The second portion of the trip was less inspiring. The talk I attended was very simplistic (female lecturer), with a power point presentation full of spelling and grammar errors. I wondered how these folks were selected by HAL. Apparently no one reviewed this presentation.

The shore excursions were efficient and reasonably priced. We enjoyed the journeys to Ephesus, Pompeii, Olympia and the interiors of Santorini and Sicily. If you do not have difficulty with mobility, most of the other sites were easy to negotiate on foot or with a taxi/bus.

Our Suggestions: Do not miss the old town of Dubrovnik and take the walk around the city wall. Take the bus in Malta and visit the Mdina and Rabat, and visit the Souk and the American WWII Cemetery in Tunis.

Onboard Facilities The layout of this ship did not seem to be designed to accommodate nearly 2000 passengers. The Crows Nest was one of the few areas on the ship that provided a comfortable amount of space. It has wonderful recliners with an ocean view and helpful bar service staff. We enjoyed the early shows and thought the Noordam singers exceptionally good. A number of events were scheduled in the culinary arts center. This facility is not large enough for ship-wide events. The lectures and shows scheduled often felt crowded by the overflow seating.

The very tiny atrium area that would comfortably seat only twenty was seldom used. Passengers appeared to avoid the area, possibly due to the garish reflective wall tiles (with blinking lights embedded) and the awkward glass stairway that was often closed. As a consequence, passengers tended to congregate in the library and Explorations café. The library was extensive and the staff very helpful. The coffee bar in the café was understaffed and very busy. We each had a (approx. $30) coffee card good for ten drinks. The wait for service was so long that we only used half that number. It might be wiser to purchase coffee individually.

On deck you will find a variety of areas to relax on lounge chairs. Only in the pool area are the deck chairs crowded together. The aft pool was designated for adults, but the "adults only" rule was seldom followed. Several people did ask for reminders about children splashing and using inflatable toys, but the issue continued. In addition, although there were two small (4 person) hot tubs in the adult pool area, only one was functioning and open during our trip.

Unlike other ships, the steam room required an additional twenty-dollar a day charge per person. We did not take advantage of this, although using the steam room is something we enjoy. We were not interested in paying an additional charges on top of the suite package of 636 dollars. There was a small (three person) dry sauna available to all travelers, however it was often full.

We anticipated a gracious voyage on HAL based upon cruise line reviews and the relative cost difference. Had the service been commensurate with the basic and additional costs, we would have been pleased. Unfortunately, the food, service and amenities did not warrant the additional spending. We did enjoy the ports of call and plan to cruise in the Mediterranean again, but we will look to an alternative cruise line for our next trip.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: January 16, 2008

INTRODUCTION Itinerary: NY -- Sea -- Sea -- Grand Turk -- Tortola -- St. Maarteen -- St. Thomas -- San Juan -- Sea -- Sea -- NY

We are in our 50's, definite cruiseaholics having sailed over 50 cruises since 1984. We sail most of the cruiselines but this was our first Holland America cruise.

The Noordam was on Code Red status, indicating a norovirus outbreak on previous cruise. This entails various procedures during sailing such as no self service at buffets. A minor annoyance for passengers but a lot of additional work time for staff.

We had learned that our embarkation would be delayed until 4 p.m. as the vessel would undergo a total scrub down after previous disembarkation. Again a minor annoyance for passengers, major work load for staff.

Being armed with disembark delay information we decided to arrive at what would be our normal time, 12:30 pm and take our chances. We were driving to pier and using Pier long term parking which we have done in years past. Cost for parking was $180, reservations cannot be made but that has never been a problem.

Upon entering we were given a

color coded number tag to be called to proceed through metal detectors into check in area. We had #21 Green or some such but were called almost immediately to join security line. Once passed through security we entered check in. Those that have already completed the online check in (I highly recommend it) were passed into a separate line and we were in front of a desk almost immediately. Check in was completed in about a minute, so much for good news. We then proceeded to take a seat in one of the several hundred chairs set up in the boarding area. It was about 1:15 or so and boarding was indeed scheduled to commence at 4 pm we were told. Boarding would be done again using those color coded numbers to maintain an organized system. Having brought books to read and a laptop computer we were happy to settle in considering the circumstances. HAL was offering free shuttles to Times Square area and back for those that choose to go see some of the city while waiting. I do not believe there was any provision to check hand luggage in for those taking the ride but I could be wrong. We were all advised that we would receive an onboard credit of $15 per person in lieu of missing afternoon buffet. There was a pier snack bar at entrance of pier but that would necessitate re-doing security lines so we stayed put.

Boarding commenced early a little after 3 pm and was orderly. We were onboard before 4 pm. Although cabins were not yet ready we were allowed to proceed to ours and deposited our carry on bags. We then headed up to the FOOD! Although a busy area and slow since we were all being served, it wasn't too much of a problem. There is plenty of seating normally but with everyone arriving at the same time it took some hunting to find a place to park. The Noordam has lots of table seating in pool areas as well and being that the main pool has a retractable roof which was closed, it was also comfortable and available, making that much more room to be found.

All of this was followed later by mandatory muster station drill (they take attendance) which was indeed held outside in the NY cold. Not enjoyable but went fairly quickly considering, and then off we sailed a couple hours late. We were advised that the late sailing time would not interfere with our itinerary stops. (They have the strangest life jackets I have ever seen with some sort or wrap around belt system which takes some head scratching to figure out. Eventually managed to get it on correctly but it would pay to watch the in room channel on how to put it on if you have time. If not instructions were given once up at the muster station, of course we all had them on whatever way by then.) Off to the Crows Nest lounge forward and some cocktails to watch us sail off.

CABIN We booked Suite 6102 SY category. This proved to be perfect for us both in accommodation and location. Located on deck 6 mid-ship towards aft it was a good location for heading either up or down, up for buffets and pools deck 9, or down for dining, shops, casino, lounges or lobby areas, decks 2 and 3.

Suite had a good sized bathroom with Jacuzzi bathtub and shower in addition to a separate 2nd shower stall. Double sinks and cabinets with various Elemis shampoo, body soaps and such provided in nice small containers in a rack between sinks. Plenty of drawer space, two closets with hangars and small safe. Safe is electronic, punch in 4 numbers you select and hit lock. Punch in your four numbers and unlocks. Balcony was very generous space with two cushioned chairs and hassocks, two more chairs and table. Balcony can easily accommodate 4 people comfortably. Solid dividers between balconies and overhead roof make for a fairly private balcony area. There is also a dvd player and nice lcd Tv on a good sized table area. A couch, two chairs, and a table and also a mirror make up table type area. All still allowing adequate room to move about. The bed was a good sized Queen with six pillows of varying degrees hardness and a very comfortable mattress. We were very happy with the suite. The SY suite is one of the three category suites before upgrading to AB's or deluxe suites. We peeked into one of those and it appeared to be somewhat larger but not dramatically so and also had maybe a King bed. The main difference to our thinking was slightly better mid ship location and also access to a private key carded Neptune lounge for cocktails and snacks before meals. Although we have had access to similar lounges and love them, it was not worth the added cost to us since SY afforded great cabin space and decent location anyway.

FOOD and DINING We had decided to book the Noordam after being docked beside her during our October cruise onboard Crown Princess. Because we booked late we were assigned anytime dining, the newest fad at sea and one we do not prefer. The advantage is heading out to dine whenever you want instead of having a fixed seating. The disadvantage to us is not having same staff and dinner mates each evening. We definitely prefer traditional dining. Anytime dining is new on HAL but it was fairly well organized and for most part you were seated near arrival at door. There were two evenings, however, when we found a 30 minute wait and given a beeper to be called for seating. I hate getting Outback type beeper on a claimed luxury cruise but again my opinion. The two gentlemen that handle seating were, I must say, gracious, courteous, and very good at getting people seated. Like all the staff we met on HAL they were exceptional. At times, however, you could tell that dining staff are stressed beyond normal capacity trying to keep up. They too tried very hard to accommodate though so no complaints from us.

Food is another matter. I will try not to over comment since food assortment and quality is very specific to individual tastes. I must say that I was not impressed with the Chefs' skills or the menu items and neither was my wife. We found food to be over cooked and dried out. Soups and many items very over salted. Desserts to be tasteless and merely resemble similar items served us on other ships. There are several items that can be ordered any night such as a steak, that is always a nice feature in case nothing on the menu strikes your fancy. One evening I ordered chicken cordon bleu, for example, and found it to be a very dry, baked and breaded, piece of chicken with a dime sized dab of cheese and ham in the very middle. The filet mignon and lobster tail, well okay having both surf and turf as one item an applauded plus. But actually the filet mignon was but a tiny squared slice of thin meat. Again not impressed! Ordered bananas foster and received some bananas totally surrounded by some type of pureed thick goop that remotely reminded one of the taste this should have.

One evening we decided to dine at the added cost premium restaurant which I admittedly am not too fond of the concept on ships. To my way of thinking the regular included dining should be able to be surpassed without having to pay additional. However we were afforded a $15 per person coupon for lunch by out travel agent which we decided to apply towards the $30 per person fee for dinner. My wife ordered fish and King crab legs served on a plank. This was the first time I ever saw my wife not eat the dinner. The fish looked like it had been boiled and she was not happy. On the plus side her side of asparagus was the best she had ever tasted. I had the rib eye steak which was excellent. The two sides I ordered, creamed spinach and scalloped potatoes were however uneatable. Looked like they took a large spoon of scalloped potatoes, fashioned it into a cylinder shape then baked it into cardboard. The spinach, well I have no idea what they added to that, but it tasted like creamed spinach with cinnamon or something.

Again on the plus side after the entrée we were presented with petit fours which were fantastic. The crème broulet dessert was also exceptional. Service was good, ambiance nice enough but another party did come in their best jeans to impress. Acceptable I guess in specialty high end dining if you are paying. For us definitely not worth even the discounted added fee.

Lest you think all was lost for us. We found the afternoon buffet to be very good. Maybe they want everyone to eat there in future? Pizza and pasta station, Asian station with daily sushi, sandwich station that has already made and made to order options. Nice salad bar, daily carving items and such -- all were very good. Hamburger and hotdog station near door to pool area, hamburgers a bit thin but acceptable. Make your own taco and nacho station poolside was great as well. Still this goes down as the first cruise ever that I returned a pound lighter than when I sailed off. Enough said!

LOUNGES -- ENTERTAINMENT -- CASINO We found the entertainment somewhat subdued but satisfactory. There are many small intimate lounges onboard which most provided some type of musical entertainment. There is a Sports bar off the casino which is small but enjoyable if you are a smoker anyway, which I am. It is one of the three designated smoking areas I found. The others being the cigar room off the Crows Nest lounge and the pool bar and starboard side table at the aft pool area. Most other areas are non-smoking which is fine as long as smokers like myself have someplace to duck into for a fix.

The casino is smoking but few do as it is small and having the Sports bar to go to nearby is enough for most. You have to pass through Sports bar area and casino to get to the main show lounge which might annoy some for a moment bothered by smoke. But should be the only place it will intrude on non-smokers for but a minute.

The main shows were again satisfactory but nothing to rave about. One comedian was exceptional. Lee Bayless is a funny and talented guy and does clean humor and some other things I won't mention as to not spoil it. Another juggler/comedian was a good half hour act stretched out far too long to an hour act. Musical productions of singers and dancers good but standard fare.

INTERNET Both wireless and internet library terminals available. Standard rate is .75 a minute but 50 and 100 minute packages are available at lower rates. I chose the 250 minutes for $100. There is also a activation fee of $3.95. I did that because this is the first ship I have sailed that I could use my wireless IN CABIN. None of the going to a lounge or library. It was a MISTAKE. Easy enough to set up, get instruction sheet from internet café, good wireless connection. Trouble is, like on many ships, the transfer rate is S L O W ! You will need all those 250 minutes to get what you would probably get at home in 50 minutes. And even at .40 a minute, just not worth it. Better to use a download mail program such as Outlook, download and upload at .75 a minute and forget the plan and surfing the net. One good note -- the NY Times apparently sponsors their internet to some degree so NY Times online time is free if you click through to Times on enter screen.

ITINERARY We go more for ships so I never cover ports to any large degree, it would be unfair since I do not take advantage of all that I am sure is available. We like sea days and sailing from NY provides several of those. In January having a covered pool area is a definite plus for Noordam allowing for poolside activity before getting to warmer climate.

Grand Turk, beach or Jimmy Buffet's, most anything else not really worth trying to get to most tell me. Good part is beach, shopping, and Jimmy's immediately adjacent to dock. We elected to go to beach area. Many chairs, no charge, you can rent a two person cover tent thingee for $20. Snorkle equipment and such also readily available but I doubt snorkeling there provided many fish. I would ask. Best price for cigarettes in shop for trip, 5 cartons for $80.

Tortola, little by the pier except straw market, which is a good place for those t-shirts. A couple of new jewelry shops, high end, and way at end the older art and spice shop is nice for spices and such. Having been there before we elected to take a tour around the island which we enjoyed instead of just hanging in shops. We found a gentleman, Ebert Hughes, with a new white air conditioned enclosed van. As we were getting sporadic showers that was the way to go instead of open air. He gave us a nice 3 hour tour and beach stop for $20 a person. Naturally had to wait to get two other couples before we moved off to tour. The way of the islands everywhere.

St. Maarteen, again elected to take a tour, this time a ship's tour of both Dutch and French sides. Enjoyed that as well. It included a small zoo which, though small, was a nice little stop. I think it was $49 a person, nice large air-conditioned bus and informative tour guide, Kathy -- a woman who, after stopping on islands, decided to move to one from Dallas, Texas with her husband after her only child grew up. Wish I had moxy to really do something like that.

St. Thomas, been there, done that. We docked at newer ship berths so cab needed if you want to go to Haversight Mall that most know or to Paradise Point tram ride. Town is $4 person, Mall and tram $5 person. They will definitely squeeze you into those vans and open sided jitneys before they are moving.

(Note:) St. Thomas is the first US port after visiting a foreign port, St Maarteen, and requires reporting to immigration. EVERYONE must PHYSICALLY report to the US officials with passport, etc. in hand at the Queens lounge. Matters not if you are planning to get off ship, you must report and here's the real rub, it starts at 7 am! It was handled very orderly but nonetheless you will get up when called and report to the nice men in uniform and show them your papers!

San Juan, we docked at old San Juan but note you are there but for a few short hours. Walking and shopping old San Juan always nice but we like to go across street to the Sheraton Hotel which also houses a nice casino. We did a quick hour and a half in there and I was lucky enough to come away with three hundred more than I went in with.

DISEMBARKATION In NY was easy and orderly enough. Immigration having been performed on your St. Thomas port call, it is not required upon return to NY.

Disembark is done by calling color coded luggage tags. Your tag color IS checked at disembark and you are turned away if wrong! For those that always feel that they must sneak out early. Not this time. A terminal improvement in NY is that they now have elevator that also goes to parking level. This means you can bring your bags up to parking level (not necessarily all the way to your car, you might have to bring the car to the bags). The elevators are huge but service large crowds and three levels so pandemonium exists. Also note that upon getting your luggage a porter can be obtained only by having someone go up front and get into the line for porters.

One very big positive concerning disembarking procedure for us: HAL allows you to remain in your cabin until called and they also have in-cabin room service in the morning so you can have your coffee and such just like any other day of the cruise.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: January 5, 2008

Departure of Holland America Lines Noordam from N.Y.C. Lengthy boarding -- unless you did not register on-line! A five star experience for older folks A virus at sea -- trumped by decisive action A problem in the casino. What about those health questionnaires?

Even if not motivated by a desire to look over the ship (I wasn't -- it was to be my second cruise on the Noordam), everyone wants to get off the pier and onto the boat. After all, lunch is waiting. Nevertheless, my wife and I found ourselves corralled with a mass of people who were moving toward the ship at glacial speed (boarding had started about an hour before). Buzzing past us all, however, was a very thin line, which was moving towards the ship at a brisk walk. Wondering if they might all have purchased sky suites, I inquired. The startling explanation was that those on the express line had not registered on-line (those of us in the corral had). It seems that significantly more check-in counters had been apportioned for the unregistered. Apparently, it is counter-productive to register on line.

The mid-size Noordam is my favorite ship.

It is richly appointed in an understated way; the passengers tend to be older, and fewer children can be found on board; there is no reggae band at the pool; chamber music is offered in the evening (in addition to the usual musical fare); bedding is extraordinary; meals are five star; and the vessel sails well -- minimal noise and vibration, good stabilizers; outstanding and well staffed library.

On the third day, we went to the breakfast buffet to discover that buffet self-service had been discontinued. Staff would serve you instead -- even coffee. It was shortly announced that the culprit was an intestinal virus -- capable of communicating by touch. Some thirty-five passengers and crew had been placed in isolation.

Dyspeptic passengers aren't having any fun -- not good for business. But a partially incapacitated crew is a significant safety issue; moreover, being in closer quarters, the crew is at greater risk of infection. Clearly, this was not lost on the Captain. People were continually advised to keep their hands well washed; hand shaking was discouraged; tissues were placed at the elevators so that people didn't have to touch the buttons; at our first port of call an additional doctor, together with supplementary cleaning staff, came on board; hand sanitizing lotions were ubiquitous, anything people could touch was being constantly cleaned; social directors and hairdressers were pressed into service to serve coffee and other beverages. Slowly, the morbidity rate fell. If my understanding is accurate, there were only a handful of sick people by the end of the voyage. The immediate and all-out initiative was both effective and impressive.

As neither my wife nor I got sick, the only sour note was in the casino. To be fair, it was a product of the exigent circumstance of the virus situation: When a slot machine allows for three quarters, my wife always plays three (significantly improves your odds). In fact, if you don't want to play three, you should find a slot that allows single quarter play -- you'll be better off odds wise. Well, she had sufficient credit and she pressed the "bet max" button (the "max" was three), thus winning a significant payoff (reserved solely for those who had played three coins) -- and the machine did not pay off. It seems the machine registered single quarter play instead of three coin play. It was politely explained that all the cleaning solution being applied to the machine (due to the virus containment initiative) was causing buttons to jam and/or not register -- in this case, the "bet max" button. I suggested that should be taken as a problem with their equipment; in turn, I was invited to understand that my wife should have checked the lights on the machine before she went ahead. Of course, the stand-off went to the casino.

To return to the virus: The speculation was that someone who had the virus boarded the boat in NYC. That had me thinking about the little "are you sick?" questionnaire that passengers are routinely presented with before boarding. It's all good, but it doesn't say much about the consequences of being sick. If they don't let you board is your fare refunded? Do you just get a credit? What if you've paid to kennel the dog, flown in from northwest Canada the night before, spent last night in a NYC hotel, and just took a taxi to the pier? Are you to be reimbursed for all that? What are the consequences of focusing attention upon yourself by simply presenting a question? It doesn't offer too much incentive to report sick, does it? Presumably, some people would risk collapsing on the pier before they'd say anything. After all, there's a mini-hospital on board.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Alaska
Publication Date: July 8, 2007

We just got back from our cruise on the Noordam July 8th-15th, 2007. It was a very relaxed and wonderful cruise.

The only time I smelled cigarette smoke was walking by the Ocean Bar (and it was pungent) and going into the casino. The air was fairly good in the casino despite that, unless someone lit up right by you. I just try to hold my breath walking thru those areas and try not to go by there. My husband usually went to the casino without me after I went to bed. Smoking is the worst part of any cruise for me.

I loved the people on our cruise and the cruise personnel. They were wonderful. We had a Verandah and enjoyed it so much. Alaska is beautiful. One morning I woke up and opened my curtains to Juneau. Oh my gosh, it took my breath away. The green mountain with the little pictuesque town below. We took Captain Larry's Whale Quest, Orca's Enterprises, booked before the cruise (not a ship excursion). It was great. We saw lots of orcas, whales -- including a baby orca -- eagles and seals. One

thing we never saw were bears. The people in Alaska are so friendly.

It rained on us in Sitka. We went into the Luthern church waiting for the Caholic church to open. Oh my gosh, they gave us a very informative personal tour. Just wonderful and much better than the cathedral that was drab inside and not as friendly, except this one lady who looked like pictures of Russians with her round face, scarf and big smile on her face. We asked some question and she was happy to answer for us. I needed some personal things and found the drug store that had exactly what I needed. The only thing I collect are the ink pens for souvernirs and there were none with Sitka on them -- just Alaska. At one store this lady gave me her business pen that had Sika on it. Not fancy, but it was free.

The worse part of this whole trip, which was wonderful, was Victoria, Canada. We took the Butchart Garden tours booked thru the ship. No fireworks, no enchanting lighted gardens cause we left before it got dark and before the fireworks. The parking lot was packed with busses (big busses like ours, which was a greyhound). We walked in with a crowd of people and we couldn't get away from that crowd of people thru all the paths and all the stores. It was just packed with people. Very warm and miserable despite walking off the boat with a cool breeze blowing. There were two other large cruise ships in port besides the Noordam. The only openness in the Garden was where a group was playing on a stage and people were sitting on a lawn viewing area. This had the most room, but who had time to sit down (with no blanket - no one ever said you might need a blanket to sit on). We had 2-1/2 hours to see the gardens and get our souvenirs. Another tourist trap. We got a bottle of Coke and a bottle of water for $6 (we were so thirsty after going down the paths). $42 for 3 shot glasses, 3 junky-looking ink pens, and 2 keychains with a little fuzzy teddy bear on them. Junk for $42. Eeeek.

It was curious how that tour was not included in the dvd that showed about the cruise. Showed a lot of excursions, but not that one. Wonder why? Could it be they didn't want to show how awful it is? We got the dvd free since we booked 12 people at one time. I could have done without Victoria cause it marred my good feeling about the cruise and wonderful Alaska. We could see Seattle's lights when we left Victoria, so why the rush to leave? Why couldn't they have stayed in port long enough for us to see the fireworks and the enchantment of the lighted garden after dark? We met in the Vista Lounge for all the excursions at 6 pm. We stayed in port till 11:59. But it wasn't enough time. Not sure I wanted to be in that crowd any longer, but they could have left the ship later and got us there and let us stay when it was dark. Basically stay away from this excursion if you want to keep your wonderful feelings about the cruise.

We embarked and disembarked very smoothly. No herding around in crowds. Thumbs up to Noordam and Holland America for the wonderful organization of those. The suitcases were grouped by the color you disembarked with. Yet on this Victoria excursion we were herded around. The paths were so crowded, just constantly bumping into people and losing my husband and getting apart from the rest of our group.

I have learned a really hard lesson here, and that is to not book excursions thru the ship. I will be leery of excursions booked thru the cruise line in the future. Study these boards and find out what is good and book on your own, or go out and explore on your own; anything but the ship's excursion. Beware of Butchart Garden also. It's a terrible experience!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Southern Caribbean
Publication Date: December 16, 2006

My wife and I recently (12/16-12/27) sailed on the Noordam to the Southern Caribbean. This was our third cruise with HAL, so we had a pretty good idea of what to expect. This was, I believe, our best cruise experience to date. We'll always have a soft spot for the Zaandam since it was our first, but our Noordam experience will be tough to top.

Our embarkation in New York went smoothly other than a little sense of unease when we could not immediately locate the Holland America representative at the Newark airport. They eventually showed up and we were put in a car for the ride to the port. The ship is beautifully appointed without being gaudy. We've sailed on the Oosterdam before and the Noordam is similar enough that we felt at home right away. We had originally booked a VF class stateroom and were pleasantly surprised to have been up-graded to a VB. I think they're essentially the same room, but the VB is a couple decks higher on the ship. The room was very nice, and had plenty of storage for empty luggage, etc. The closets were

spacious and had more hangers than we knew what to do with. We travel rather light and don't pack along formal ware for every day, but there would have been room and hangers enough if we did. The balcony, er, excuse me, verandah came equipped with two chairs and a little table, perfect for a morning cup of coffee or just taking in the scenery.

Our room steward, Nugie, was attentive, yet practically invisible. I don't know how the stewards know when the room is vacant and ready for servicing, but they do. It's uncanny. Our ice bucket was always full, the room clean, and the bed turned down nightly complete with towel origami critters no matter what our schedule. We didn't partake in many organized ship-board activities, but the ones we observed (poolside games, etc.) seemed to be well attended.

We were able to go ashore from the pier in every port we called on. This was much more convenient than tendering in. The food on board was excellent and practically non-stop. We did most of our dining in the Lido dining room, and were never disappointed. Not that we have anything against the Vista dining room, but as I hinted at earlier, we don't cruise to dress up and do enjoy the casual atmosphere and portion control that the Lido affords. We did, however, take the plunge into the Pinnacle experience for the fist time on this cruise. What a feed! It's worth every cent of the $30 service charge. I don't know anywhere ashore where such a dining experience can be had for that money. The filet is not to be missed. Cut with a fork tender and cooked to perfection. Don't miss it.

The bars on the ship are plentiful and different enough that each offers a different relaxing experience. We particularly enjoyed the Ocean Bar, both because of the many interesting and pleasant people we met there and because of the top notch bar tenders Joseph and Cesar. We also enjoyed the Sport Bar. It has the lovely quality of being the closest smoking area to the casino (which is non-smoking), has a nice casual ambiance and Edwin, the bar tender is excellent.

The casino is small, but nice. The dealers are mostly eastern Europeans and are understandably not as chatty as your typical Vegas dealer. As long as you're not looking for conversation they're fine by me. As I mentioned above, it is non-smoking, but even for a militant smoker like me that's O.K. I go to the casino to game and make a little in the process. If I want to smoke and drink I go to a smoking bar.

Our ports of call were Tortola, St. Thomas, Dominica, Barbados, St. Maarten and San Juan. Tortola is quaint but other than tour bus sight seeing tours not really much to do there. On a previous sailing I did go on a dive excursion here (the Rhone) that was pretty good, but not breath taking.

St. Thomas has great shopping with pretty decent prices. They've built a new shopping area adjacent to the cruise ship port. My advice is to high tail it out of there as quickly as possible and go to Charlotte Amalie proper.

Dominica is beautiful and not quite as "urban" as St. Thomas. I booked a dive there via the internet prior to sailing with ALDive. I could not have had a better experience. I was picked up pier-side and driven to the shop. After meeting the owner and staff, the dive master, a boat handler, and I hopped in a boat and headed for the dive site. It was a nice change from the often over crowded shore excursion variety. So the two of us dove a relatively recently scuttled wreck and "Champagne Reef". A very interesting dive location with never ending streams of volcanic gas bubbles seeping from the solid rock bottom. The bottom was actually so hot in places of high bubble activity that I couldn't keep my hand on the bottom. Rather like testing a hot skillet with the backs of one's fingers. Very cool.

We found Barbados to be a rather money hungry place. A lot of in-your-face taxi drivers and vendors. A taxi ride to a fairly close by beach=$20 to $25 each way! If you want a chair once you get there, cha-ching-another $5, please. Do the duty free shops at the pier and then run, don't walk, back to the ship.

St. Maarten (Phillipsburg) was by far our favorite port. The Dutch really do have this running an island thing down. Very clean with manicured landscaping. Not a pushy sales person or cab driver to be seen. Good deals in the shops. I picked up a designer white and yellow gold unique link bracelet there for I believe, half of what I would have paid for same in even St. Thomas. Now I know.

Old San Juan is nice, but we were there on a Sunday, and Christmas Eve to boot so it was pretty quiet. We had a short time ashore as we had to get headed back to New York.

I have only one gripe. As you may have gathered, I'm a pretty laid back guy. I'm not a kid-I'm 41. I've had a few years to become somewhat set in my ways, but I do play by the rules. I'm a smoker and as such I've been witness to the shrinking realm of smoker friendly places. I can respect that. I can respect that because there are still a few places in the public domain, some bars for example, where I can still enjoy a smoke. I'm not from NYC nor is the ship in NYC. With this in mind, imagine please, my annoyance when the Noordam "art" staff set up their "art" auction in the Ocean Bar, of all places. A bar with no less than seven conspicuous signs announcing to all that it is a designated smoking area. No sooner had the throng gathered for the bidding festivities when the first comments came about the smoke. I'm not alone at the bar, mind you. A pretty even mix of smoking and non-smoking patrons was miraculously coexisting before the auction. The comments from the gallery eventually incited the bar tender and several non-smoking bar patrons to remind the patrons d'art that they were in a designated smoking area. I eventually fled the scene, went to the front desk and filled out a "feedback" form explaining that with all the non-smoking areas of the ship, it might be wiser hold the auction in one of those. I have yet to hear a response. That's my only gripe, and things were back to normal as soon as the auction was over.

I'd do it all again. My wife and I both had a wonderful time. I hope this review has been helpful. If I can answer anyone's specific questions please let me know.

Dvrdude A.K.A Jim
Expand Review
Read More
 
Southern Caribbean
Publication Date: November 4, 2006

This is just a brief summary of our great cruise vacation. We left upstate NY by Amtrak 2 days prior to our cruise. Saw Mama Mia, which was Great. Went to the Stage Deli for lunch, (awesome) and We took our tour of NY. NYC is expensive, but it's fun.

Embarkation went very smoothly at the terminal. Suite guests were called up first at around 11:30am for the usual documentation paperwork. We were escorted and in our room by 12pm and luggage was delivered within 45 minutes. Our suite was 7058,across from the Neptune Lounge which do offer added amenities and great service by the Concierge.

My wife & I have cruised 9 times and 4 of that with HAL. Our Room Attendant was excellent and it seemed that he "spit-shined" the room twice daily.

It did seem that our waiter and Bus Boy were stretched too thin taking care of tables at dinner, but they still did an excellent job and The food was great to excellent. This was the BEST Entertainment HAL has had on our cruising with them.

We certainly enjoyed every show.

Although we have been to most Islands

in the Caribbean, we still enjoyed shopping at our favorites, St.Thomas (port shopping) and Barbados.

We will crtainly cruise wih HAL again, but will also look at other cruise lines as long as the ships are not any larger then the Noordam.

Debarkation went very smoothly according to the time frame you select and had no trouble finding our luggage. A cab back to Penn Station and our train trip back home.

LarryK

cruisethewaves@webtv.net

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: October 25, 2006

This was our fifth Holland America cruise -- merest trivia in comparison to the legions of Former Floaters who attended the "thanx for repeat business" mid-cruise gala.

We love the line. Reasonably quiet, formal, mature. Has a "kids" program, but doesn't exactly encourage the kids-and-family set. Lovely dinner service. User-friendly staff. Nice.

Noordam was a knock-out.

The staff were both competent (nobody screwed anything up) and ridiculously obsequious. All over the boat, everybody knew our names and our drinks and our dinner seating and our entertainment preferences, almost from embarkation.

Our room steward did the animal sculpture thing with our bath towels every night. Laundry (a bargain on HAL) was faster than promised. We searched for something to complain about; there just wasn't anything. (Ok, the corkage fee, which they don't exactly HAVE TO assess, they assessed every night {but not at lunch}{But even so, HAL lets you bring on your own wine!})

Superlative was the entertainment. This was our tenth cruise. We've never encountered cruise entertainers above the level of "decent community theater" performers. (We live an easy train ride from Broadway.) These folk were as good as it gets. I'd pay $50 for a

ticket to see them do their stuff in Poughkeepsie.

And the cruise left from Manhattan. If you're within 100 miles (or maybe 200) of this terminal, you have to realize what a Godsend it is. Parking is not just convenient; we could easily have hit our (recently parked) car with jelly beans from the Noordam's Lido deck. Upon return (exhausted, vacationed ... whatever) the porter-person didn't just collect our bags; he carted them all the way into the trunk of my car.

We got everything we paid for and a lot that we didn't expect from this cruise.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Transatlantic Crossing
Publication Date: September 28, 2006

My wife and I looked forward to this cruise for a long time. We wanted to do some shopping in the ports of Monte Carlo, Barcelona, Valencia, Cadiz, the Azores, and Bermuda. Unfortunately, the cruise line had no recommended shops in any of the ports, in fact were really not even familiar with the ports so they information given to you was poor at best. An example came when we took a tour from the ship to the Lladro factory. We wanted to purchase one for an aniversary gift and have it sent home. However we were then told by the salesperson that your passport was required. We did not have uors as they are not required to leave and reenter the ship. As a result we were not able to make the purchase. Is this not the job of the port ambassador on the ship to know these things? Our port ambassador knew very little if anything about the ports, as you sensed when you tried to ask a question.

Another example came in Monte Carlo, after we asked this ambassador the best places to shop for jewelry. His

directions were so bad we never were able to do any shopping. We finally came to the conclusion that we were better off just doing our own thing and asking other passengers for recommendations. I know this is a repositioning cruise but they had done these ports before.

The cruise itself was a really great experience. The food was great and the service was great. We were however very disappionted in the Pinnacle Dining room. Usually whenever you go to the specialty dining rooms with a special fee, they are really special experience. On this cruise it was no better than the regular dining room, plus the attitude of the waiters left a lot to be desired.

Overall, we had a great time even with the problems we encountered. I would recommend the cruise to everyone but do your own research on ports.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Transatlantic Crossing
Publication Date: April 15, 2006

I boarded this ship with great anticipation since I heard it was a new ship. It was the biggest disappointment of my cruise history. The food was very pedestrian (I had to send back many dinners). The entertainment was mediocre and the worst part of all was the fact that I had to ask the steward after 7 days to change my linens.

Another gentleman told me his linens had not been changed for the whole 16 day cruise (he marked his sheet and it was still there when the cruise was over). I also found the atrium on the lower deck too small and not conducive to spending much time there. I reported all of this to Holland America who offered me an upgrade on a future sailing. I would never sail on the Noordam again. Very disappointing !!!

Read More
 
 
Southern Caribbean
Publication Date: March 25, 2006

I absolutely loved this cruise! The ship is beautiful, there was so much to do on board, and the crew was awsome! This ship is unbelievable. It is like a great hotel and I really did not want to leave! The ports all were awsome.

The crew I had on board that made me have the best time of my life was billy r., dave, adam, ana, brent d. and jen. All of them are so great! I could not begin to say anything more because it is just so much you have to go on it yourself!

Read More
Write a Review
Results 11 - 20 of 22 123