CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums

CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/)
-   All Things Cruising (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/all-things-cruising/)
-   -   7 Tips for first timers (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/all-things-cruising/364097-7-tips-first-timers.html)

Jay Herring May 4th, 2009 11:02 AM

7 Tips for first timers

I used to be a senior officer for Carnival, and here are a few things that may help:

1 - Sail with your age group. If it's cold, they're old. Alaskan cruises typically have an older crowd and in general, the longer cruises have older passengers. Any cruise that is longer than seven days will typically have an older crowd. Younger passengers usually can't afford longer cruises nor do they have vacation time to take them. Three and four day cruises are party cruises and typically have a younger crowd, especially in the Caribbean. Two day cruises to nowhere are especially popular with the party crowd. If you are looking for an older more relaxed crowd, look for longer voyages especially in colder climates. If you want to party with a younger crowd, look for shorter voyages in warmer climates.

2 - If you have assigned seating in the dining rooms, then the secret about the people you sit with is that they are likely very similar to you. The Maitre'd intentionally seats similar people together. Couples with couples, singles with singles, seniors with seniors. Realize that these people may become your new best friends on the cruise.

3 - Remember to set your watch to “ship time” which may or may not change when you cross time zones.

4 - Don't be late. The ship will only wait about fifteen minutes after its scheduled sailing time. Each cruise line has a port agent that can help if you do miss the ship. Most people fly to the next port to meet the ship there, but you'll pay for all extra expenses.