CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums

CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/)
-   All Things Cruising (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/all-things-cruising/)
-   -   Carbonated beverages in checked airline luggage? (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/all-things-cruising/364516-carbonated-beverages-checked-airline-luggage.html)

buckybruce May 16th, 2009 04:05 PM

Carbonated beverages in checked airline luggage?

Can you take aluminum type carbonated beverages like beer or coolers in your checked luggage on an airplane?

All my flying, I've never tried to before, and never knew the answer.

misguidedangel May 16th, 2009 04:16 PM

THe problem would be getting the cans of pop SAFELY to the destination. The likelihood the cans will puncture due to the careful, loving, and thoughtful handling they get from the bagge handlers is quite high.

I have yet to have 100% of my items I bought come back the same condition when I bought them. Usually one, two, or more items get broken and have to be glued even though I packed them ever so carefully.

I would suggest, if you know your brand of pop is not available, to buy it when you get to the port city and get a cab to take you to the nearest Walmart or store you can buy it a. Otherwise, just get a fountain card on the ship and be done with it.

green_rd May 16th, 2009 04:28 PM

The cargo hold of an airplane is neither heated or pressurized. I've transported wine but don't think I would try anything carbonated.

buckybruce May 16th, 2009 05:57 PM

I have a hard sided suitcase (Heys brand)...extremely light, but very strong. I've transported back bottles of Appleton rum from Jamaica...well wrapped in clothes, and in the middle of the case, and so far, no problem.

These are cans of Smirnoff Ice cooler drinks and Mott's Clamato premixed Caesars(we Canadians have to have our Caesars) LOL .....