Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Deals. Cruise Questions and Answers! > All Things Cruising
Register Forgot Password?

All Things Cruising Any cruise question not specific to one cruise line

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 18th, 2010, 09:39 AM
Passenger

Question Balcony Guarantee

I have seen several posts wherein people mention a “balcony guarantee” cabin. What exactly does this mean? I’m VERY new to the cruising world (going on my first cruise in July) and my husband and I have booked a balcony cabin (cabin # has been assigned) and the cabin number is on our tickets; however, there is no “guarantee” anywhere on our ticket. Does this mean that our balcony may be given away or that we may not get one since ours is not “guaranteed”?

Thanks for any clarification on this…
Sponsored Links
Old May 18th, 2010, 09:51 AM
Admiral

No, you have done what we usually do, picked a cabin when booking. A Guarantee cabin just means you will definately get a cabin of that grade but they have not told you which one yet, these cabins are usually cheaper. Any other questions just ask, it can be confusing.
Old May 18th, 2010, 11:59 AM
Administrator
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Paul Motter

A guarantee means that you are guaranteed to bee placed in the category of cabin you booked.

In general, you pay the lowest price they offer for that category and they will upgrade IF they have a better obe available, but the rule of thumb is to never expect anything beetter than what you paid for - because most ships sell out (and we hear people saying that they were told "sorry, the ship is full" whenever they want or need to change cabins all the time).

But many people book guarantees (including me) because the difference between one balcony and the next is minimal (in my opinion).