Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Deals. Cruise Questions and Answers! > Ask CruiseMates Staff
Register Forgot Password?

Ask CruiseMates Staff Got a question? Our staff will do its best to help.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 19th, 2004, 01:06 PM
lrm
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Register camera w/Customs?

Do we really need to register cameras with Customs before we go? I remember reading something about it--but am not sure if it is really needed.
Can you help? Thanks....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 19th, 2004, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
Admiral
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 7,373
Default Re: Register camera w/Customs?

Irm,
If it is a new camera that is expensive and often bought in dutyfree ports then you might want to bring your receipt for it to show in case they want to charge you duty. If it is obviously been used and not new they will know and not bother you with it. You do not actually 'register' it with customs, just keep your receipt where you bought it from.
Jim

__________________
24 cruises and counting!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 19th, 2004, 06:48 PM
Donna's Avatar
Moderator
Admiral
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: on my computer
Posts: 26,544
Send a message via AIM to Donna
Default Re: Register camera w/Customs?

Yes, if its a fairly new camera, just bring along a copy of your receipt to proof you already had it before your trip started.

__________________

Message Boards Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 19th, 2004, 08:23 PM
Senior Member
Admiral
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 7,373
Default Re: Register camera w/Customs?

Hey, I have a great idea! If it's a digitial take a photo of yourself at the homeport before you board! That way you can just show it to the agent! <>
Jim

__________________
24 cruises and counting!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 19th, 2004, 10:27 PM
lrm
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Re: Register camera w/Customs?

Thanks for the information! I am glad it is so easy--I guess I thought it would be a problem. ....I appreciate your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
camera, cameras, cruise, cruises, customes, customs, intitleregister, line, ord, register, registering, registry

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLEASE REGISTER!! Paul Motter Crewmembers 0 September 12th, 2005 08:58 PM
PLEASE REGISTER!! Paul Motter Royal Caribbean International 0 September 12th, 2005 08:46 PM
PLEASE REGISTER!! Paul Motter Carnival Cruise Lines 0 September 12th, 2005 08:45 PM
cant seem to register rodnarf Chit - Chat for Cruisers 3 June 23rd, 2005 01:13 PM
HOW DO I REGISTER SEE MORE Ask CruiseMates Staff 1 October 26th, 2001 09:41 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 PM.
design by: Themes by Design

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1