Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Chit - Chat for Cruisers
Register Forgot Password?

Chit - Chat for Cruisers Open Forum for non-cruise posts. Please refrain from inflammatory rhetoric that could be considered offensive. We reserve the right to edit or delete for any reason.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old October 13th, 2011, 07:14 AM
Welcome Newcomer

Default What makes a great port?

Hi there,

I'm a market researcher based in Australia. I would like to hear from cruise enthusiasts what makes a really good port to stop off at? When you first get off a cruise and into a port city, what are the things you first want to see/have access to etc. It might be really good visitor information, shops, food and beverage, anything!

Thanks,
M
Sponsored Links
Old October 13th, 2011, 09:51 AM
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Snoozeman Send a message via Yahoo to Snoozeman

Clean area first of all.

Visitors info, restrooms, excursion information...

My Personal Cruise Blog: My Cruise Blog

Future Cruises:
Carnival Triumph-Caribbean-7/28/2014, Carnival Legend-South Pacific-8/30/2014, MSC Preziosa-Mediterranean-10/25/2014, MSC Fantasia-Mediterranean-11/2/2014, Navigator of the Seas-12/14/2013, Norwegian Jewel-1/3/2015, Emerald Princess-1/11/2015, Carnival Freedom-2/2/2015, Carnival Freedom-2/15/2015.
Old October 13th, 2011, 10:11 AM
Welcome Newcomer

Thanks Snoozeman! Can you think of a port that has done this really well?
Old October 13th, 2011, 10:16 AM
Admiral

Exclamation A great port

Since the vast majority of the time we are meeting a shore excursion, either ship's or independent, the main thing we are looking for is a good bus/van parking area with easy access from the ship. Then when we return a nice terminal with good restroom facilities, and perhaps a few decent souvenir shops for a quick memento.

Some of the best we have run into are in Israel. And actually St. Petersburg is not bad at all.