Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Practical Advice > Entertainment on Ships
Register Forgot Password?

Entertainment on Ships All aspects of shipboard entertainment.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old July 25th, 2003, 08:47 PM
David St John

Default Cruise entertainment in a rut?

Hi
Hi Cruisaholics!

My name is David St John, and I have been in the entertainment business for most of my life! I am a well established professional comedy entertainer, based in the UK, having previously spent several years as a lead singer/frontman in semi-pro pop groups, before launching into a solo career back in the 70s.

If you want to check me out, then surf on by - www.davidstjohn.co.uk - you should find it interesting to see what I have been up to for many years!

Like many entertainers, I have done some cruising work over the last few years - mainly as a visiting guest comedy act, flown in to do a 14 day run, on the passenger changeover basis ie 7/14 day duration around the Mediterranean itineraries. We usually have to offer a couple of alternating and different routines over the two-week period - basically a 50 minute routine, and performed twice nightly to cater for the two meal sittings. I am talking about smaller ships, unlike many of the larger vessels which you US passengers normally talk about! As some passengers stay on for two weeks, then the entertainment must also change to cater for this element.

I have generally found that many passengers seem to grumble about the general standard of live entertainment, as I often surf by a few cruise-based websites, such as this Cruise Mates - excellent! I do sympathise with the usual criticism of yet another 'Broadway' type revue shows, although most of them are very well staged, and use talented singers and dancers.