Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Practical Advice > Health at Sea
Register Forgot Password?

Health at Sea Questions on the treatment of sea sickness and other cruise-related health topics.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 23rd, 2003, 01:55 PM
Junior Member
Passenger
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to HiramC
Default sleep apnea

I have sleep apnea and travel with a machine. I've seen several threads discussing bringing power strips on board. Are there power outlets near the beds?

Hiram
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 21st, 2004, 08:31 PM
Lisa's Avatar
Senior Member
Admiral
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Wisconsin....about 100 miles south of the Frozen Tundra and 70 miles east of Camp Randall
Posts: 9,488
Send a message via AIM to Lisa Send a message via Yahoo to Lisa
Default Re: sleep apnea

Bring an extension cord. Most outlets are located at the seating vanity in the cabin....and not necessarily close to the bed.

__________________
Carnival Breeze with Ray B and Aerogirl 5/4/14!
Lisa
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 4th, 2004, 10:27 PM
davidkade
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: sleep apnea

I have asked this question on many CPAP and Apnea boarda, and got the same answer. I am a first time cruiser, sailing on the Coral Princess on 3/22. I would appreciate any CPAP or BiPAP users posting their experiences.

David
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 10th, 2004, 07:02 AM
Junior Member
Passenger
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Re: sleep apnea

I travel with my CPAP and have not had any problems using aboard any ship. Bring an extension coard as the outlet may not be close to the bed. Power strip may work, most contemporary ships have a 3 prong outlet. You may want to pack a 3 / 2 prong adapter. But more important would be the extension cord for access to an outlet.

I just use an extension cord, and plop the machine and extension in a drawer after the night's use.

__________________
Retired CD & ShorEx: Royal Cruise Line; Radisson Seven Seas: Celebrity; Holland America; Premier; NCL.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 29th, 2004, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
First Mate
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 343
Default Re: sleep apnea

I had my Cpap machine on the Sensation with me and didn't even need an extension cord. The cord on the machine was long enough. It is 6ft. the plug was at the sitting table but my bed was close to it. I had no problem and left my extension cord (still in a wrapper) in the room for the steward, thinking maybe someone else may need one.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 29th, 2004, 04:18 PM
Junior Member
Passenger
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to HiramC
Default Re: Re: sleep apnea

I ended up needing a power strip to reach from my bedside to the plug
in the vanity area. I was on the Carnival Pride.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sleep apnea ~ CPAP machine~ electical outlet? annmom Health at Sea 7 December 26th, 2009 05:01 PM
Anyone that's used CPAP on NCL Pearl for Sleep Apnea frankj Norwegian Cruise Lines 2 June 30th, 2007 02:11 PM
sleep apnea and outlets near beds on the Liberty? Meggles Carnival Cruise Lines 18 May 1st, 2007 01:29 AM
Sleep apnea nickle Ask CruiseMates Staff 7 December 17th, 2005 11:56 AM
Sleep UConn1 Carnival Cruise Lines 2 May 2nd, 2002 08:41 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:19 PM.
design by: Themes by Design

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1