Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Norwegian Cruise Lines
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 3rd, 2006, 06:30 PM
Beginner

Default alcohol question?

I am taking a cruise this weekend on the Spirit and it is my first time on a cruise. I was told by many people to bring on my own alcohol. How is this possible with xray?

Can anyone tell me the best way to sneak it on?

Is it true that the alcohol you buy from the duty free shops, they dont give to you until the cruise is over? Any info you have will be much appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Old May 3rd, 2006, 08:01 PM
Admiral

Hi boytoy25,

NCL is one of the most strict lines regarding bringing alcohol aboard. You can try to pack it in your checked luggage, but if they see it on the scanners you'll have to go open your luggage and give it to them to hold until the end of the cruise.

On our cruise we were able to order a bar setup for our cabin, but I don't see that option on the NCL site now. (One of the worst cruise line sites IMO-no search feature .) The setup cost more than what we pay at home, but was much easier and we didn't have to "smuggle".

If you used a Travel Agent check with them about the bar setup, or call NCL directly.

Yes, anything you buy onboard (or at the ports) will be held for you until the end of the cruise.

"A truly happy person is one who can enjoy the scenery on a detour."

Carnival Inspiration 2002 Carnival Elation 2004
Grand Princess 2004 NCL Sun 2005
Sun Princess 2006 NCL Dream 2007
Caribbean Princess 2007 NCL Dawn 2008
Island Princess 2008 Island Princess 2009
Golden Princess 2009 Carnival Conquest 2010
Grand Princess 2010 Island Princess 2011
Grand Princess 2011 Carnival Magic 2012
Carnival Dream 2012 Island Princess 2013
Carnival Magic 2013 Carnival Legend 2014
Sea Princess 2014
Old May 3rd, 2006, 08:41 PM
Administrator
Admiral