CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums

CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/)
-   Princess Cruise Lines (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/princess-cruise-lines/)
-   -   Need Advice on Alaska (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/princess-cruise-lines/221710-need-advice-alaska.html)

cruisebound August 4th, 2001 04:56 PM

Need Advice on Alaska

We've cruised a lot, but want to try Alaska for the first time. Help us understand "Gulf" vs. "Inside". Is Northbound or Southbound best? Also, Princess offers many land packages. How do you choose which one? Is it best to cruise before the land package or after the land package

Marie August 4th, 2001 08:35 PM

Re: Need Advice on Alaska

This is Marie's daughter answering these questions. I work in the industry and I know that there are many tough decisions about Alaska. For your first question about the Gulf vs. Inside. With the Gulf cruises that would mean that the ship would be going from Vancouver to Seward or reverse. With Princess you would be cruising through College Fjord, Glacier Bay, and Inside Passage, with ports of calls at Skagway, Juneau, and Ketchikan. With the Inside passage cruise, you would be cruising roundtrip Vancouver. You would stop at Juneau, Skagway, and Sitka. You would visit either Hubbard Glacier or Glacier Bay, depending on the departure date. The Sun Princess, Star Princess, Ocean Princess and Dawn Princess will be doing the Gulf cruises next year. The Sea Princess will be doing the Inside Passage. For the land tours, Princess offers a wide variety. Their most popular tours are the Heart of Alaska tours which include overnight in Anchorage, Denali, and Fairbanks. The most popular direction is Southbound. Passengers believe that they can do all their running around on the land and then have a nice relaxing cruise at the end. Hope this helps. Heather

Cheryl August 5th, 2001 12:47 PM