Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Royal Caribbean International
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old December 30th, 2006, 12:33 PM
Passenger

Default Going to Cozumel Beach on our own

I am probably going to have several posts before we leave on Sunday. I got preoccupied with my daughter's tonsillectomy and Christmas and now it's only a week away! Even though I'm a travel agent, we have never done the W. Caribbean itinerary before, always Eastern, so I have lots of questions. As far as Cozumel goes, when I read the shore excursion book, I'm just certain we can do this cheaper on our own, as we normally do. It shows that the Rhapsody takes the passengers to Playa Mia Beach. Should we go there on our own, or to a different beach? We like really white powdery sand and clear water (doesn't everybody?), calm water, and hopefully some good snorkeling just off shore a bit. You do get an open bar with the RCCL $28 package, and use of the water toys and floats, but I'm not sure how it would compare to do it on your own, because either way we have taxi fare.

Also, I am concerned about drinking drinks with the local ice in them at a beach bar. Should we just order bottled water and beer so there is no ice involved? I usually like something frozen, so is that out? Thanks!
Old December 30th, 2006, 04:27 PM
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Donna

[color=darkblueActually the cost of booking that excursion through the cruiseline sounds like a decent price and you wouldn't have to worry about getting a taxi for the trip back...I'd still consider that.][/color]

Message Boards Moderator
Old December 30th, 2006, 10:42 PM
Passenger

Default Going to Cozumel beach on our own