Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Practical Advice > Shore Excursions
Register Forgot Password?

Shore Excursions Snorkeling, SCUBA, sightseeing - discuss ports and activities

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old November 17th, 2003, 07:25 PM
Mhanback

Default Can I just take a cab to Dunn's River Falls?

I am totally new at this cruise thing. We are going in January and wondering if I can just get to places like DRF or the Mexican Ruins by a cab, or is it better to schedule the tours/excursions? I would also like to do Stingray City. I have to book this right? Thanks for any help!
Sponsored Links
Old November 17th, 2003, 08:03 PM
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Donna
Default Re: Can I just take a cab to Dunn's River Falls?

Hi mh,
Yes, you can take a cab to the falls, but for a first time, I'd suggest just going with a ship tour, best to stay in groups in Jamaica, some of the locals can be agressive. As for the ruins, I think they are a bit too far away and the cost of the cab may be expensive, also some tour would be good.

Lots of cruisers use independent tour operators to get to Sting Ray City, there are a few good ones out there, you can e-mail me at donnanye@cruisemates.com and I' can give you a link or two. Just be sure to get to sting ray city, its a great excursion.

Message Boards Moderator
Old December 5th, 2003, 06:27 PM
First Mate

We took a cab to Dunns River Falls, it was much cheaper than what the cruise line was charging. There is cab area outside of the terminal with safe cabs, we went in a van with 5 other people who wanted to go there also, paid the admission price to the park, rented water shoes (theirs are gross you might want to bring your own) if you are going to hike up the falls, and hiked up, If you are in decent shape you don't need a guide.
Old December 6th, 2003, 02:12 AM
WT