Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Singles
Register Forgot Password?

Singles Talk to other single cruisers about cruising in groups or cruising solo.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old August 19th, 2007, 03:10 PM
First Mate

Default Age discrimination???

Several cruiselines offer reduced rate for a single traveler, but you MUST be [at least] 55 yrs old to qualify for this rate.

I'm a young grad student that cruises at least 7 times a year, and I don't get this rate many business establishments around America and overseas offer big discounts for university students. Why can't cruiselines do the same?? *** perturbed ***
Sponsored Links
Old August 19th, 2007, 03:27 PM
Cruise Maniac

The single supplement and senior discount are 2 different price reduction issues.

Do you think that any senior discount is discriminatory i.e. senior coffee at McDonald's?

Carnival offers a lower single supplement on some cruises in certain cabins, but also offers a senior discount. You don't have to be 55 in order to get a single supplement of 150%.

I don't think university students are a big chunk of the cruising public, nor are they a "target" population.

Sorry, just my opinion.

Shelby
Old August 19th, 2007, 03:39 PM
First Mate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelby
The single supplement and senior discount are 2 different price reduction issues.

Do you think that any senior discount is discriminatory i.e. senior coffee at McDonald's?

Carnival offers a lower single supplement on some cruises in certain cabins, but also offers a senior discount. You don't have to be 55 in order to get a single supplement of 150%.

I don't think university students are a big chunk of the cruising public, nor are they a "target" population.

Sorry, just my opinion.

Shelby