Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Practical Advice > Travel Gripes!
Register Forgot Password?

Travel Gripes! Gripe about cruises or getting to one.(airlines, taxis)

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old June 3rd, 2003, 12:34 PM
HannaS77

Default Comment On Camp Carnival

COMMENT ON CAMP CARNIVAL

The posting by Sheila is merely another in a series of similar incidents aboard a Carnival ship. In recent times I have read of two incidents like the one described. In
jargon what has transpired is known as "ejection" of passengers from the vessel at the first port available. Several years ago when I read about Carnival ejecting four passengers off the "Paradise" in Jamaica I researched the subject and wrote an article " Booting Passengers Off A Cruise Ship." The source of information was US Codes 46-Shipping and a few published court decisions. The following are but a few of what I learned about the subject at hand. I am not a lawyer nor attempting to dispense legal advise; the information dispensed is solely for educational purposes.

A passenger can be ejected off a vessel if he or she is endangering the safety of the vessel, crew, passengers or themselves. I have to wonder if these conditions prevailed in this incident. The carrier may eject from a vessel a passenger who persists in carrying on a business pursuit thereby being in violation of carrier's rules. This generally applies where the passenger is conducting a business pursuit that conflicts with businesses conducted aboard the ship.